FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Khmer Rouge Survivors - They Will Kill You, If You Cry (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Khmer Rouge Survivors - They Will Kill You, If You Cry

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDK03611

Glitterbeat Records presents Khmer Rouge Survivors: They Will Kill You, If You Cry. Sublime and unheralded sounds from Cambodia, producer Ian Brennan (Zomba Prison Project, Hanoi Masters, Tinariwen) returned to Southeast Asia to record musicians and musics which survived the Khmer Rouge regime. The resulting 14-track set is both heartbreaking and inspiring.

It would be disturbing anywhere to see a mob gathered around a street-pole as an electrocuted utility-worker's lifeless body was lowered down by rope as if lynched, but especially in a land with so many ghosts. A reported 3-million tons of carpet-bombs were dropped on Cambodia by the USA in the 1970s. Following the bombings, dictator Poi Pot seized the moment, emptying the cities into shells, then pitting rural residents against the urbanites and launching a genocide that claimed somewhere around 2-million lives. This particular holocaust was especially catastrophic culturally as it specifically targeted the artists and "intellectuals," of whom it is estimated that less than 10% survived. 

Musical director, flautist, and percussion player, Am Chorn Pond managed to survive, first by playing music to entertain the Khmer Rouge troops, and later by himself becoming a child soldier against the Vietnamese, in a kill or be killed scenario. His weight had dropped down to 30 pounds due to lack of rations, before he was rescued by an American adoptive father. "If you're a soldier, they will kill you if you cry. Now I cry and feel better. The turning point for me was learning to cry and listen to my own words, rather than just preaching peace and forgiveness to others."


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Phnom Domrey Trom ("Where the Elephants Go to Die") vocals by Rab Ban, accompanied on Kann by Mon Hai
  2. Pjanch Meah ("Defeat the Giant") vocals & Chapey Dawng Veng by Soun San
  3. Aasojet Anet Mai ("Have Mercy on My Mother") vocals by Keut Rann
  4. Orano ("I Hate My Husband that Drinks") by Rab Ban
  5. Jivit Rongkroh Proh Songkream ("My Life as a Victim of War") by Thuch Savang
  6. Kontriev Doeung Kon Mai ("All Children Must Show Gratitude to their Mother") vocals & Chapey Dawng Veng by Kong Nai
  7. Prolop Phkaypreat ("Evening Stars are the Masters") sung by by Mon Hai
  8. Kamara Rongkaam ("Nation in Grief") by Kong Nai
  9. Ao Sat Sarika ("Where Has My Husband Gone?") by Prom Chantol with her daughter Ouch Savy
  10. Boonchnam Kamkosal ("My Grief Begins") by Kong Nai
  11. Pineak Doeulang Knong Soun ("Walk in the Garden") by Keut Rann
  12. Phleuv Dail Treuv Deu ("The Path You Should Take") by Soun San
  13. Bong Euy Sdaap Pkor ("Hear the Thunder") by Thorn Seyma with Arn Chorn Pond on flute
  14. Preh Kon Euypok ("A Father's Honor") by Soun San

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.