FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > King Tuff - Was Dead (180G Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

King Tuff - Was Dead

(180G Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDK6610
King Tuff Was Dead on 180g LP

2013 Vinyl Reissue from Burger Records!

"It's always seemed as though Was Dead kinda came outta nowhere. Even for me, I don't remember writing the songs and I barely remember recording them. I do know that they came from the purest part of my heart and they were made with a mischievous little smile on my face. I think it was 2006. I recorded mostly late at night, in a giant dirty ballroom called Vegetable Street, in my hometown of Brattleboro, Vermont. My days were filled with endless cups of Mocha Joe's coffee, black, sitting on the stoop with my friends, and spazzing out on my guitar. 

"Looking down at the streets of Brattleboro below and out at Mount Wantastiquet and beyond. I didn't have a cell phone or a computer and the only way to find me was either to call my mom, Lil' Smashy, who was probably already too busy cooking me something really delicious, or spot me in the corner of the coffee shop spying on people and drawing them in my sketchbook. They were very chill times.

"I wanted Was Dead to be a pure Vermont Rock and Roll record, fueled by extra sharp Cabot cheddar cheese and hot, grade-A fancy maple syrup poured over crisp white snow and served with a pickle and a cider donut. You sit down on the shitty concrete in the parking lot and you slurp it all up. I had already made a few King Tuff albums in the early 2000's and had laid the project to rest around 2003. But something told me to resurrect King Tuff, hence the title Was Dead.

"This album changed my life in so many ways, as it slowly trickled out into the world. I never expected anyone to hear it, let alone connect with it. I never would have left Vermont, never met the boys at Burger Records or any of the other insane, beautiful, cartoonish characters that now populate my life in the best way. It’s an expression of my infinitely teenage heart and soul, and I'm really proud of it. So here it is again, thanks to Burger Records. These songs belong to the Strutters and the Stutterers, the Headbangers and the Stoop Hangers, the Ruthies and the Gold Toothies, and of course, the A-N-I-M-A-L-S." - King Tuff. 

"Thee rock & roll record of our degeneration of outsiders, freaks & radical weirdos - it's the beat to which we all can bang our heads to the heavens in unison, dancing & having endless fucking fun!"- Mr. Burger Records

King Tuff Was Dead Track Listing:

1.  Dancing On You
2.  Connection
3.  Sun Medallion
4.  Lazerbeam
5.  Lady
6.  A Pretty Dress
7.  Ruthie Ruthie
8.  Just Strut
9.  Kind Of Guy
10. Freak When I'm Dead
11. Animal
12. Stone Fox
13. So Desperate
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Dancing On You
2. Connection
3. Sun Medallion
4. Lazerbeam
5. Lady
6. A Pretty Dress
7. Ruthie Ruthie
8. Just Strut
9. Kind Of Guy
10. Freak When I'm Dead
11. Animal
12. Stone Fox
13. So Desperate

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.