FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Kurt Elling - Flirting With Twilight: 75th Anniversary (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Kurt Elling Flirting With Twilight: 75th Anniversary

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDE73041

Kurt Elling Flirting With Twilight on 2LP

Remastered and Reissued As Part of the Blue Note 75th Anniversary Vinyl Reissue Campaign

"The prize for ingenuity on Flirting really belongs to Laurence. The side is defined by the arrangements he created — a sound he invented (or at least reinvented). It was Laurence who heard what was possible for voice, rhythm section and three horns and it was Laurence who wrote it all down." - Kurt Elling

"I still tell people that making this record may have been the experiential highlight of my career to date. The experience started with the crafting of the arrangements. Kurt and I worked totally in tandem at first; as always, I wanted to sculpt the arrangements around what he wanted to do. The three-horn configuration was new territory for us, though, presenting extra challenges not just in terms of molding everything to Kurt, but also the desire to achieve a balance between a "classic" sound and modern rhythmic and harmonic shapes. 

"The results demanded, among other things, that the horn players we would use had to be both highly skilled soloists and seasoned section players; the parts are very independent and, with only three, each had to be capable of being very strong and sensitive and yielding at the same time. As we worked, we both seemed to trust the direction the arrangements were taking. By the time I was doing the last couple of arrangements Kurt was trusting enough to let me work on my own (by that time his hands were officially full with other things.)

"Then came the recording itself. What can I say? We had one of the greatest engineers who ever lived in Al Schmitt, we were in Capitol Studio One where Sinatra, Nat Cole, Streisand and many others had laid down legendary tracks. I was not only getting to play with two of my rhythm section heroes, Peter Erskine and Marc Johnson, but, to a great extent – because of the arrangements – I was directing the proceedings. It was a bit dizzying, but on a little break the first day Peter said some very supportive things — he loved the arrangements, our plan of attack, everything was cool.

"We tracked for two days with just Kurt and the trio. I may have had my hands full but it didn't escape me how great Kurt sounded. This record definitely represented the most minimal involvement on his part of anything we'd done but his soaring, gorgeous voice brought light and meaning to everything we were playing. And then, on the third day, the horns came in to lay down all of their parts in one day. We'd pre-tracked everything except the ballad medley, which had rubato sections and had to be tracked live with everybody.

"Up to this point I'd only heard the horn parts in my head and you can't know how nerve-racking it was to have to wait until that day, afraid that, even though the basic arrangements performed by the rhythm section sounded great, the added horn parts would be full of bad choices, clashing rhythms, downright mistakes and God knows what else. As the day unfolded I think it's fair to say that everyone was increasingly excited at what we were hearing. Peter and Marc graciously stayed around in case something in their parts needed attention but it never did. I'll never forget standing out in the main room, conducting the horns on "Not While I'm Around," and, looking into the control room, seeing Bill Traut with this huge grin on his face." - Laurence Hobgood

Kurt Elling (vocals)
Clay Jenkins (trumpet)
Jeff Clayton (alto saxophone)
Bob Sheppard (tenor & soprano saxophone)
Laurence Hobgood (piano)
Marc Johnson (bass)
Peter Erskine (drums)

• Remastered and reissued as part of the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign 
• Vinyl initiative spearheaded by current Blue Note Records President, Don Was, to include 100 essential Blue Note albums 
• Includes special Blue Note 75 vinyl sleeve that features album cover art for 75 Blue Note titles 
• First run of vinyl to include Blue Note 75th logo on back of package 
• Key to the Blue Note 75th anniversary vinyl reissue campaign is the creation of high quality audio at an affordable price 
• Blue Note will celebrate their iconic artists and the history of the label with various events, digital initiatives, vinyl campaigns and more

Kurt Elling Flirting With Twilight Track Listing:

1.  Moonlight Serenade  
2.  Detour Ahead  
3.  You Don't Know What Love Is  
4.  Orange Blossoms In Summertime  
5.  Not While I'm Around  
6.  Easy Living  
7.  Lil' Darlin'  
8.  I Get Along Without You Very Well  
9.  Blame It On My Youth  
10. I'm Through With Love  
11. Say It  
12. While You Are Mine  
13. Je Tire Ma Révérence

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Moonlight Serenade
2. Detour Ahead
3. You Don't Know What Love Is
4. Orange Blossoms In Summertime
5. Not While I'm Around
6. Easy Living
7. Lil' Darlin'
8. I Get Along Without You Very Well
9. Blame It On My Youth
10. I'm Through With Love
11. Say It
12. While You Are Mine
13. Je Tire Ma Révérence

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.