FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Lady Lamb and the Beekeeper - After (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Lady Lamb and the Beekeeper After

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDL19810

Lady Lamb And The Beekeeper After on 2LP + Download 

To many, Lady Lamb the Beekeeper (aka Aly Spaltro) is an enigma. Her songs are at once intimate and unbridled- both deeply personal and existentially contemplative. Spaltro is a fearless performer who can command a pitch-black stage with nothing more than her voice. Yet, when the band bursts in and the lights come up, what began as a demonstration of restraint shifts seamlessly into an emphatic snarl.

It was in Spaltro's home state of Maine that she first found her voice among thousands of films in the independent rental store where she worked the closing shift. After hours, Spaltro would create songs completely uninhibited by musical conventions, learning to play and sing as she hit record. A handful of these songs were carefully curated and fully arranged for her debut studio album, Ripely Pine (Ba Da Bing! Records).

On her newest work, After, Spaltro explores dualities further - giving equal attention to both the internal and external, the before and after. Her most palpable fears and memories are on display here, with a familiar vulnerability even more direct than her last effort. These new works - which found Spaltro co-producing with her Ripely Pine partner Nadim Issa - are sonically vibrant, with an assertive use of grit and brightness. 

Thematically, they provide direct insight into Spaltro's rumination on mortality, family, friendships, and leaving home. Where Ripely Pine sometimes lacked in personal narrative and directness is where After shines. The last line on After encompasses the self-assurance of the work as a whole, stating "I know where I come from." This theme is constant throughout the album.

Lady Lamb And The Beekeeper After Track Listing:

1.  Vena Cava
2.  Billions of Eyes
3.  Violet Clementine
4.  Heretic
5.  Sunday Shoes
6.  Spat Out Spit
7.  Penny Licks
8.  Dear Arkansas Daughter
9.  Milk Duds
10. Ten
11. Batter
12. Atlas

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Vena Cava
2. Billions of Eyes
3. Violet Clementine
4. Heretic
5. Sunday Shoes
6. Spat Out Spit
7. Penny Licks
8. Dear Arkansas Daughter
9. Milk Duds
10. Ten
11. Batter
12. Atlas

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.