FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Le Ton Mite - Passe Compose Futur Conditionnel (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Le Ton Mite - Passe Compose Futur Conditionnel

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDL07579

Le Ton Mite is a musical cooperative that revolves around the compositions of itinerant musician, instrument maker and fine artist McCloud Zicmuse, an American expatriate in permanent residence in Brussels. Having left the United States in the mid-noughties on a European sojourn that never ended, McCloud wound up in the Belgian capital in the fall of 2008. Half a decade on, a time in which he has embedded himself in European life via puppet shows, archery guilds, folkloric events, theatre projects and a catalogue of idiosyncratic solo and group works (perhaps most recognizably the 2011 Hoquets album on Crammed Discs called Belgotronics), McCloud returned to the States, to revisit places he had not seen, in some cases, for 15 years.

Passé Composé Futur Conditionnel is the stunningly realized soundtrack to this voyage. A finely woven double album patchwork of 50 songs, in its 67 minutes it absorbs a lifetime's worth of landscapes, reflections, encounters, anecdotes and movements. In addition to a core group of Belgian master musicians, a number of songs feature the fruitful intervention of Deerhoof's John Dieterich as well as a keyboard cameo from Heather Trost (A Hawk and A Hacksaw), with the resolutely pop sound of the LTM group rendered dynamic by infusions of jazz, baroque, folk and R&B. Thus the album takes endless playful musical diversions in its bittersweet stride, including deep-fried protest soul ("Class War"), Seattle-homaging alt-rock joy ("Space Needle"), spectral synth balladry ("Mystery Trail") and micro-bursts of tumbling free jazz ("Gaspillage"). McCloud is your navigator throughout: showman, troubadour, puppeteer, sage...sometimes everything at once.

On one level a joyous testament to the fast-evaporating wonders of cultural pluralism and roving human spirit, Passé Composé Futur Conditionnel is, at heart, a swan song to McCloud's motherland, a place that never will exist again. It is the battle cry against nostalgia, and the fruit of years of work from a true nomad artist of our culturally flatlined times, the liberation of knowing that home is no longer a place, but a state of mind.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Décalage Horaire
  2. Oude Dworp
  3. Cantina Mexicana
  4. L'Orage Qui Nous Accueille
  5. Class War
  6. La Danse Carré
  7. Did Pharoah Saunders Ever Come Back?
  8. Sources Chaudes
  9. Petit Jean
  10. Anse De Liberté
  11. Encounter Group (Ultimately We March!)
  12. Petit Bis
  13. Hooch Wine
  14. Buffalo
  15. Eureka!
  16. Gaspillage
  17. 5' = 45'
  18. Indépendance
  19. Paysages Éphémères
  20. Al-BBQ-uerque Pizza
  21. Antonio
  22. Mystery Trail
  23. Tamale Claus
  24. El Camino Real
  25. Un Litre De Salsa
  26. Dans L'Ombre De Georgia O'Keefe
  27. Holy Dirt
  28. Space Needle
  29. A Dog
  30. Retour À La Double Cime
  31. Olympia By Bus
  32. Donne Moi Une Heure Dans Un Lac
  33. Ghost Buildings Of A Past Life
  34. Butoh Dancers
  35. Al Gives Us A Ride
  36. L'Esprit Viking
  37. Micro-Capitalism (My Friends Are Hustlers)
  38. Amtrak Cascades
  39. Haceta Head
  40. Mare Résiduelle
  41. Pois Frais
  42. Jamming Foiré
  43. Crater Lake Majesty
  44. Les Ricocheteurs
  45. An Awkward Moment
  46. One Minute Later
  47. Last Of The Boxes
  48. Hommeling
  49. There Was A Dome Of Awesome But Now It's Gone
  50. Passé Composé Futur Conditionnel

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.