FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Lee Hazlewood - Friday's Child (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Lee Hazlewood - Friday's Child

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDH3745

Lee Hazlewood Friday's Child on LP

Lee Hazlewood’s partnership with Reprise Records in the 1960s resulted in timeless hits for Dean Martin and Nancy Sinatra. Throughout the decade, though, the label also released three of the artist’s most highly regarded solo works: The N.S.V.I.P.’s (Not So Very Important People), Friday’s Child and Love and Other Crimes.

His second solo recording for the label, Friday’s Child indulges his signature country-pop flare and pioneering use of vocal reverb. With electric guitar leads, harp and female backup vocals, the album finds Hazlewood embellishing his arrangements, though some of its strongest moments draw their impact only from his rich timbre. Some artists develop their voice for years; Hazlewood’s third album overall proves it was an innate and irrevocable gift.

Weepy guitar leads kick off the title track and Hazlewood takes up the story of twinkling sorrow and bad luck. He often speckles pain with humor, but “Friday’s Child” is one of his most purely somber ballads. Elsewhere, with finger snaps, sparse backup vocals and Hazlewood’s emotive intonation, the intro of “Houston” alone could carry on entirely a cappella and still endure as a classic. 

The composition made a hit for Dean Martin, but the Friday’s Child version shows Hazlewood’s inimitable skill as a vocal stylist. Mostly lacking the dada-esque humor of his first two albums, Friday’s Child places Hazlewood in league with the era’s greatest traditional songwriters, though one for whom pop conventions were to be bucked and cast aside.

Lee Hazlewood Friday's Child Track Listing:

1.  Friday's Child
2.  Hutchinson Jail
3.  By The Way
4.  Four Kinds Of Lonely
5.  Houston
6.  Sally Was A Good Girl
7.  Since You're Gone
8.  A Real Live Fool
9.  I'm Blue
10. The Fool
11. That Old Freight Train
12. Me And Charlie
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Friday's Child
2. Hutchinson Jail
3. By The Way
4. Four Kinds Of Lonely
5. Houston
6. Sally Was A Good Girl
7. Since You're Gone
8. A Real Live Fool
9. I'm Blue
10. The Fool
11. That Old Freight Train
12. Me And Charlie

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.