FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Lee "Scratch" Perry - Back on the Controls (180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Lee "Scratch" Perry - Back on the Controls

(180g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDP90194

Lee "Scratch" Perry Back On The Controls on 180g 2LP

Circa 2012, Lee "Scratch" Perry began working in the Rolling Lion Studio, UK on an exciting new project. Alongside producer Daniel Boyle, they began re-building the Black Ark studio signal chain that created his famous sounds in Jamaica throughout the 60's and 70's. Utilizing famous bits of equipment such as the Mu-Tron Bi-Phase, the Space echo, and various Fisher and Grampian reverbs, Lee re-created his original signal chain and worked in collaboration with Daniel to produce new original deep roots music, featuring a whole host of well known reggae players, and with Lee's vocals on top.

These tracks have been produced as close to the original Black Ark style as possible, with vintage equipment, - mics, compressors and effects; and raw recording techniques. A lot of tape saturation, live instruments, horns, guitar, bass, etc; all recorded live and blended together by Lee and Daniel on a big analogue mixing desk. Lee, for the first time in many years, was active on the mixing desk, and the effects units and also created his own Dub versions of each song. 

It resulted in the poignantly titled 2014 album Back on the Controls. The collection brings back the true Upsetter style of dubbing and mixing, on heavy, hard hitting deep roots rhythms backed by some stars of the reggae world including Hughie Izachaar, Hornsman Coyote, Christine Miller, and Dennis Bovell among others!

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Rastafari On Wall Street
2. Wall Street Version
3. Po Satan
4. Po Dub
5. Tug O'war
6. War Dub
7. Do The Dubstep
8. Do The Dub Version
9. I Believe
10. Believe This Dub
11. Repent
12. Repent & Dub

1. Sound Of Jamaica
2. Sound Of My Dub
3. Blackboard Re-vision
4. Blackboard Dub
5. Land Of Dub (Raw Mix)
6. Land Of Dub Version
7. Copy This & Copy That
8. Copy My Dub
9. Come Up Scratch
10. Come Up
11. Words
12. Lee's Special

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.