FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Lindi Ortega - Tin Star (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Lindi Ortega - Tin Star

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDO0010

Lindi Ortega Tin Star on LP

Tin Star, the latest album from critically lauded singer-songwriter Lindi Ortega, will be released by Last Gang Records. The new record follows her 2011 Juno Award-nominated and Polaris Music Prize Long-Listed debut album Little Red Boots, and her 2012 Polaris Long-Listed album Cigarettes & Truckstops. Billboard called Cigarettes and Truckstops “heartfelt and mood-inducing, a uniquely bluesy twist on pre-outlaw country” while The New York Times praised Ortega for having “untamed instincts, but classic bones.”

Produced by Grammy-nominated Dave Cobb (Secret Sisters, Shooter Jennings), Tin Star demonstrates the unique voice and songwriting that Ortega has come to be known for and is largely inspired by her adopted home of Nashville, TN. Born and bred in Toronto, ON, Ortega made the move to Music City to be closer to the musicians who inspired her. “It’s always my goal to raise the bar with each record I put out. I have witnessed so much talent living in Nashville that has inspired me to push myself even further,” she explains. “I like to work with different musicians and producers to change the feel of every release. I don’t want to risk making the same record over and over. Working with a new group brings a new spirit and new ideas to the music.”

Several songs on the album touch on the classics of country music. Loneliness, unrequited love, crumbling relationships and primal desire pepper Tin Star and give Ortega a chance to let her contemporary twist on traditional country shine through. "Hard As This," one of the standout tracks from the album, speaks to difficult relationships, how they often seem to be more trouble than they’re worth, and the feeling of giving all you have and it still not being enough. While "I Want You" takes the dark undertones that Ortega’s music is known for and explores the dark side of desire and the need to be bad to get what you want.

The past few years have found Ortega nearly constantly on the road supporting both Little Red Boots and Cigarettes & Truckstops. She has toured with the likes of Dierks Bentley, Brandon Flowers of The Killers, K.D. Lang, Social Distortion and James Vincent McMorrow. Of her live performance The Chicago Sun Times notes “[her] ebullient personality and powerful voice make for a striking presence,” while Country Weekly goes on to say, “it’s her penetrating and tremulous voice you’ll remember the most.”

Whether the stars she’s imagining are in the night sky or made of tin hanging on an old barn door, Lindi Ortega is painting a picture of a career continually on the rise.

Lindi Ortega Tin Star Track Listing:

1.  Hard As This
2.  Gypsy Child
3.  Tin Star
4.  Voodoo Mama
5.  Lived And Died Alone
6.  I Want You
7.  This Is Not Surreal
8.  Something For You
9.  All These Cats
10. Waitin’ On My Luck To Change
11. Songs About
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Hard As This
2. Gypsy Child
3. Tin Star
4. Voodoo Mama
5. Lived And Died Alone
6. I Want You
7. This Is Not Surreal
8. Something For You
9. All These Cats
10. Waitin’ On My Luck To Change
11. Songs About

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.