FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Love - Reel to Real (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Love - Reel to Real

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDL63725

Love Reel To Real on LP + 28-Page Book + Download w/ Bonus Tracks

High Moon Records presents the 1974 studio album from one of rock music's most gifted and enigmatic legends – back on vinyl after 40 years! Reel To Real captures Arthur Lee and Love at the peak of their rock/funk/soul powers. Originally released in 1974 on RSO Records, this deluxe reissue features over 74 minutes of vibrant, remastered audio from the original multi-track tapes, a 28-page booklet with an illuminating essay by Rolling Stone's David Fricke, and a trove of candid, unpublished photos.

What Lee began on Love's Black Beauty (released by High Moon to wide acclaim in 2013), he brought to fruition on Reel To Real. Armed with a major label budget, and a powerful, intuitive band, he dug deep into the blues, soul, and rock grooves that first inspired him, reaching out to a new audience with his fierce and forward-thinking personal vision. To a palette of stinging guitars, explosive brass, deep funk bass and clavinet, splashes of spacey synthesizer, and dream-team female backing vocals, Lee brought his funkiest and most soulful collection of songs, and channeled the most visceral vocal performances he ever committed to tape.

High Moon Records has also unearthed 11 revelatory, previously unreleased tracks from the original sessions (featured on an accompanying download card) – including alternate takes and mixes, live-in-studio rehearsals, and 4 newly discovered Arthur Lee originals. This ultra-rare bonus material fills out the picture of a fearless, agile and very funky ensemble, led by a masterful singer-songwriter at his feral, exultant best.

"Rich in soulful, unconventional details, masterful singing, crunchy-guitar rock, straight-up Stax-grounded soul, eccentric psychedelia and contemporary funk." – David Fricke, Rolling Stone

• LP pressed on high-quality RTI vinyl
• Full-color, 28-page LP-sized booklet
• LP includes download card for high-quality album & bonus tracks

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

LP - Original Album
1. Time Is Like A River
2. Stop The Music
3. Who Are You?
4. Good Old Fashion Dream
5. Which Witch Is Which
6. With A Little Energy
7. Singing Cowboy
8. Be Thankful For What You Got
9. You Said You Would
10. Busted Feet
11. Everybody's Gotta Live

Download Bonus Tracks
1. Do It Yourself [Outtake]
2. I Gotta Remember [Outtake]
3. Somebody [Outtake]
4. You Gotta Feel It [Outtake]
5. With A Little Energy [Alternate Mix]
6. Busted Feet [Alternate Mix]
7. You Said You Would [Single Mix]
8. Stop The Music [Alternate Take]
9. Graveyard Hop [Studio Rehearsal]
10. Singing Cowboy [Alternate Take]
11. Everybody's Gotta Live [Electric Version]
12. Wonder People (I Do Wonder) [Studio Rehearsal]

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.