FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Lowell - We Loved Her Dearly (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Lowell - We Loved Her Dearly

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDL50016

Lowell We Loved Her Dearly on 180g LP + Download

Literally and figuratively, Lowell is a wolf. Her very name stems from the French origin of the word, but her approach to music, creating, and the way she's embraced both are a testament to both she and her namesake: fearless, determined, and a natural pack leader. Born in Calgary, she eventually migrated to the Yukon where she lived with her father in Carcross, near a mountain that once offered passage to gold hunters. 

Appropriately, the area was also once a preying haven for wolves; so Lowell drew strength from desolate beachside cabin she and her father called home before finding her way to Massachusetts, Ottawa, Georgia, then back to Calgary before basing herself in Toronto and London. Since, she's played to crowds across Europe, worked with the industry's finest writers, producers, and musicians, and compromised nothing to create the stirring, commanding - yet joyous songs that have found a home under her lone namesake. 

After earning the attention of Martin Terefe (KT Tunstall, James Blunt, Jason Mraz), Sacha Skarbek (Lana Del Rey, Adele, Miley Cyrus), James Bryan (Nelly Furtado, The Philosopher Kings), and Paul Herman (Dido), Lowell was invited to Kensaltown Studios in London to write with all of them. However, what they worked on wasn't in sync with her own vision - so, supported in her decision to stay true to herself, she and the pack scrapped what they had and started all over again. Soon, they saw the completion of her EP, I Killed Sara V., and the beginnings of her full-length record, We Loved Her Dearly - her debut album on Arts & Crafts

As expressed in the album's first single, "Cloud 69," Lowell is like dynamite: ferocious, unrelenting, and determined - but not only when it comes to her music. Writing each song to empower not only herself, but also her listeners - to challenge gender conventions and inspire freedom from social limitations, rules, and misogynists" abuse of power; to celebrate and uphold individuality, and to "take away your pain" as sung in "88," the album's sing-a-long-friendly liberation anthem. 

By writing openly about topics like sexual abuse, rape, abortion, and women's rights, Lowell's album is a platform for much-needed discourse in our patriarchal society - and to further articulate the necessity of conversation, she uses herself and her experiences as examples. In addition to feminism, she also boldly addresses the lack of LGBTQ rights in our society, as well the ignorance about (and simultaneous obsession with) homosexuality. However, there's no grandstanding - far from it. Lowell's brand of pop may convey the urgency of her subject matter, but her melodies keep songs accessible and fun. Turns out you can still dance while confronting social norms; you can still have fun while defending equality. And Lowell's stream of musical optimism makes it possible. 

"No ordinary pop chanteuse." - New York Times

"Dream pop princess." - Nylon

Lowell We Loved Her Dearly Track Listing:

1.  Words Were The Wars
2.  Cloud 69
3.  Summertime
4.  The Bells
5.  88
6.  The Sun
7.  Palm Trees
8.  I Killed Sara V.
9.  I Love You Money
10. LGBT
11. Tell Me What You Want Me To Do
12. Time I Lower Me Down
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Words Were The Wars
2. Cloud 69
3. Summertime
4. The Bells
5. 88
6. The Sun
7. Palm Trees
8. I Killed Sara V.
9. I Love You Money
10. LGBT
11. Tell Me What You Want Me To Do
12. Time I Lower Me Down

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.