FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Lp - Forever For Now (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Lp Forever For Now

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDL8248

LP Forever For Now on LP

LP’s (born Laura Pergolizzi) distinctive talent, both as a writer and performer, is brought to the fore on her debut album Forever For Now, which was produced by Grammy Award-winning producer and Warner Bros. Records chairman Rob Cavallo (Green Day, My Chemical Romance, Dave Matthews Band). Enlisting her favorite collaborators, including Isa Summers (Florence and the Machine), PJ Bianco, Billy Steinberg and Josh Alexander, she has struck an inspirational tone. 

Songs like “Heavenly Light,” “Tokyo Sunrise,” and “Into the Wild” are brightly hopeful - the work of an artist always expanding, always digging deeper. LP’s passion for music began in New York where she was born. Despite being raised in a “family where I was encouraged to pursue a career in law or medicine,” her mom loved to sing, and music became a constant presence and pursuit as she grew up. LP began taking inspiration from a range of artists, Jeff Buckley, Kurt Cobain, Chrissie Hynde, Joni Mitchell, Robert Plant, and Jim Morrison, to name a few - the voices, the wordplay, the swagger all stood out for her. 

Like many before her, LP has been down the major-label road, having previously signed deals that did not fit, leading her to believe that an artist’s career may not be in the cards. During those years, LP fell into writing for other artists, penning such hits as Rihanna’s “Cheers (Drink to That)” and Christina Aguilera’s “Beautiful People.” However, the artist world came calling again in late 2011 after LP began drawing crowds to what she describes as “fun, low-key” appearances at local L.A. clubs such as Bardot and Sayers.

In 2012, LP released the dynamic Live at EastWest Studios EP on Warner Bros. Records, showcasing the vocal power and prowess she’d earned as a performer from earlier times barnstorming the country - "250 shows a year, driving around the country in a tiny van.” That’s the standard she and Cavallo took to the studio. Cavallo’s goal with the live EP was to show that LP was not a studio invention but the real deal. The same approach was used when recording Forever For Now.

“Rob wanted to bring out my voice,” she says. “He was adamant that it was the key instrument and that it should be the main vehicle driving the entire record.” To showcase that voice, Cavallo enlisted a variety of approaches and creative combinations to take LP on a musical and emotional journey, from the opening burst of “Heavenly Light” to the more subdued denouement of “Forever For Now” (co-produced by Isa Summers). As the album came together it led LP to places she didn’t know it would take her. 

“There are certain songs that changed the landscape of this album for me,” she says. “One Last Mistake” is one of the songs that broadened the scope of where the album could go. Working with Kid Harpoon brought out a different sound, particularly with the harmonies. Another is “Night Like This,” a collaboration with Mike del Rio and Nate Campany, which almost didn’t make the album. “A few major artists wanted to sing that track,” LP says. The song’s laid-back feel and sweet tone, mixed with the rhythmic stomp of the kick-drum, feel natural nestled within the whole of the record.

The LP-Cavallo partnership opened the music up to new possibilities. Foremost is the orchestral elements that grace songs like “Tokyo Sunrise,” which, like “Into The Wild,” was co-written and co-produced by PJ Bianco. That orchestra, complemented by the fragile harp-like sounds of a twelve-string guitar, provide the vivid backdrop for the song’s layered, powerful vocals. 

“I always knew with ‘Tokyo Sunrise,’ from the moment it came together, that it would be the artistic pinnacle of the album,” LP says. “The emotional content behind that song runs very deep for me and brings me there every time I sing it.” Though each song on the album is unique, overall, all 12 feel like they belong in the same family. It sounds like a cohesive piece of work as well as a triumphant one!
LP Forever For Now Track Listing:

1.  Heavenly Light
2.  Night Like This
3.  One Last Mistake
4.  Tokyo Sunrise
5.  Salvation
6.  Your Town
7.  Free To Love
8.  Levitator
9.  Someday
10. Savannah
11. Into The Wild
12. Forever For Now

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Heavenly Light
2. Night Like This
3. One Last Mistake
4. Tokyo Sunrise
5. Salvation
6. Your Town
7. Free To Love
8. Levitator
9. Someday
10. Savannah
11. Into The Wild
12. Forever For Now

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.