FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Manchester Orchestra - Cope (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Manchester Orchestra - Cope

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDM1797

Manchester Orchestra Cope on 180g LP + Download

“Cope, to me, means getting by. It means letting go, and being OK with being OK,” says Manchester Orchestra’s Andy Hull. “You can cope in a positive way when bad things happen or a negative way, and that blend was a big lyrical theme for me on this album.” The Atlanta band found itself at a crossroads as they approached making their fourth studio album - in between labels, uncertain of Manchester Orchestra’s future for the first time since Hull started the band almost a decade ago. He was barely finished with high school back then, and now Hull and his bandmates were transitioning into the adult reality that shit happens. They’d learned a bit about letting go themselves.

So Manchester Orchestra regrouped. They built a studio with their own hands, and spent month after month workshopping new tunes, writing and demoing together in a room - a process that was completely new for them. The change did them good. Witness the title track: Cope takes its name from the track that closes its unrelentingly heavy thirty-eight minutes with the strongest blow of them all. The behemoth “Cope” was written during one of the earliest sessions for the album, and it helped chart the course for everything that followed. Manchester Orchestra had undertaken a process of writing and demoing a new song every single day, with Hull composing lyrics as they went.

For their previous LP, 2011’s Simple Math, experimentation had been the goal. Hull conceived an epic, memoiristic concept album that featured elaborate arrangements including a string section and children’s choir. Their highest charting album to date, Simple Math also earned widespread critical acclaim, with American Songwriter noting: “They’ve perfected the balance of gorgeous songwriting and rabid musicianship, so we can’t wait to see what they do next.”

But even once they had “Cope,” it took them a minute to figure out which sonic direction to follow. Working on and off over the course of several months between June 2012 and March 2013, they amassed 28 new songs. Staring down a list of almost thirty demos from the previous year, the singer and his bandmates - lead guitarist Robert McDowell, keyboardist/ percussionist Chris Freeman, bassist Andy Prince and drummer Tim Very - came to a realization. 

“We wanted to make the kind of album that’s missing at this time in rock: something that’s just brutal and pounding you over the head every track, something unrelenting and unapologetic,” Hull explains. “Whereas Simple Math was a palate with each song a different color, I wanted this to be black and red the whole time. Our mission statement was to make a crazy-loud rock record. We demoed some slower, introspective songs, but we had to set those aside because this album is not that. This album was about being cool with dedicating yourself to something and sticking through with it. Even the album title is bold and straight-to-the-point.”

For each of their first three albums, Manchester Orchestra had worked with producers Dan Hannon and Joe Chicarelli in established studios in Nashville and Atlanta. But they wanted to try something different this time: The band bought a house in Atlanta where some of them had previously lived as roommates, and spent money they’d saved to gut, renovate and soundproof the whole building, turning it into the studio where they would record Cope. They eventually did hire John Agnello (Dinosaur, Jr., Kurt Vile, The Thermals, Sonic Youth) to mix the album at Fluxivity in Brooklyn.

Ten years after a then-seventeen year-old Hull started Manchester Orchestra as an outlet for his tender bedroom recordings, the singer-songwriter says this time he didn't relent until he’d achieved the exact sound he had in mind. “This was really the most hands-on I’ve ever been,” he says. “I wanted to drive it home completely and so we did, and I’m more proud of it than any record we’ve done before. Of course, as soon as this one is out, I’m gonna start thinking about how we can make the next one better.”

Manchester Orchestra Cope Track Listing:

1.  Top Notch
2.  Choose You
3.  Girl Harbor
4.  The Mansion
5.  The Ocean
6.  Every Stone
7.  All I Really Wanted
8.  Trees
9.  Indentions
10. See It Again
11. Cope
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Top Notch
2. Choose You
3. Girl Harbor
4. The Mansion
5. The Ocean
6. Every Stone
7. All I Really Wanted
8. Trees
9. Indentions
10. See It Again
11. Cope

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.