FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Marcos Valle - Garra (180G Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Marcos Valle - Garra

(180G Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDV9119
Marcos Valle Garra on 180g LP

The follow-up album to Brazilian singer, songwriter, and musician Marcos Valle’s 1970 self-titled long player, Garra continues to express a socially aware stance combined with a playful hodge-podge of samba, bossa nova, baião (a rhythmic beat from the rural northeast of Brazil), black American music, and psychedelic rock. Marcos and lyricist brother Paulo Sergio recorded the disc with some of Brazil’s top studio musicians and created the pair’s most overtly political statement. 

Recorded amongst sessions for a steady stream of popular TV novella soundtracks - a side gig for the sun-kissed composer - the results tested the military led government’s hand picked sensors, looking over the country’s art and music with sharp eyes for critical or objectionable content. Unfortunately, some of Valle’s peers didn’t fare as well and were either exiled (like Tropicália movement icons Gilberto Gil and Caetano Veloso in 1969) or fled the country for the United States or Europe.

Garra was originally released in 1971 and brought us the rare groove classic “Wanda Vidal,” heralded by UK, European, and Japanese music fans years after the disc’s initial release. Amidst an intoxicating mix of instruments, vocals, and orchestration, it’s a deep cut on an even deeper document. Any way you spin it, Light In The Attic is extremely proud to present Garra as part of their four-album Marcos Valle reissue campaign. 

Consisting of an ambitious string of early 1970s landmark studio sessions (sympathetic in spirit to Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye’s game changing work from the same era) and released on LP, Garra features extensive liner notes by San Francisco-based writer Allen Thayer (Wax Poetics) with exclusive interview content and song-by-song breakdown from Marcos himself. Fans new and old will finally have easy breezy access to these once hard-to-find Brazilian classics.

Tackling topics from Presidential corruption, rampant consumerism, and the black power movement, Garra is a welcome addition to any South American friendly record collection and sits proudly with the best of Brazil. File after Os Mutantes and before Caetano Veloso. 180g vinyl LP with original art expanded on a gatefold old-school “tip-on” jacket.

Marcos Valle Garra Track Listing:

1.  Jesus Meu Rei
2.  Com Mais de 30
3.  Garra
4.  Black Is Beautiful
5.  Ao Amigo Tom
6.  Paz e Futebol
7.  Que Bandeira
8.  Wanda Vidal
9.  Minha Voz Vira Do Sol Da America
10. Vinte e Seis Anos Anos de Vida Normal
11. O Cafona

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Jesus Meu Rei
2. Com Mais de 30
3. Garra
4. Black Is Beautiful
5. Ao Amigo Tom
6. Paz e Futebol
7. Que Bandeira
8. Wanda Vidal
9. Minha Voz Vira Do Sol Da America
10. Vinte e Seis Anos Anos de Vida Normal
11. O Cafona

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.