FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Marquise Knox - Here I Am (45RPM Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Marquise Knox Here I Am

(45RPM Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LAP2024
Marquise Knox Here I Am on 45RPM 2LP

Marquise Knox is a once-in-a-generation type of talent. And, man, are traditional blues lovers lucky he's decided to pursue straight-up real blues. Marquise has the voice, the songwriting talent, the guitar chops, the showmanship and the determination to very likely be a success in any number of styles of music. But for Marquise, it's nothing but the blues. Not the guitar hero, pyrotechnic licks blues. Not the gimmicky, tired, "Sweet Home Chicago" meets "Mustang Sally" predictable blues.

No, Marquise almost seems to be literally channeling the certain-something energies and nuances of a Howlin' Wolf or Muddy Waters or Lightnin' Hopkins. In fact, when you listen to Marquise, only 19 years old when he recorded this title, which features nine originals and three reverent covers of Marquise’s favorite Muddy Waters tunes, you get the sense that this is what those masters must have sounded like as young men. Marquise's blues are so transparent and bare. It's so easy to feel his music as totally legitimate. That's above all what makes it so appealing. That's what makes Marquise Knox special. He's the whole package. A throwback blues master on the rise.

As you'd expect from somebody still so young, Marquise's talents have matured immeasurably since his 2009 APO debut, Man Child, recorded when he was 16. And that was a really good record. On Man Child, Marquise shared the guitar duties with Michael Burks, a fiercely explosive and powerful guitarist. For this outing, however, Marquise doesn't need the guitar help, and Here I Am doesn't want for even a little power and punch. Marquise's guitar skills have improved tenfold. Seriously. And his voice is, well, three years richer. To say that this record sounds unlike anything any other 19 year old is releasing in 2011 is undisputable. To say that it may be unlike anything anybody is releasing in 2011 might also be true!

When Man Child hit the market in 2009, blues lovers freaked out partly because of how young Marquise was to be sounding like such an aged veteran. Well, he's still awfully young, but this time around, the focus ought to be entirely on just how incredible a bluesman Marquise Knox is, age aside!

"Listening to blues guitarist Marquise Knox play on Here I Am, his third album, you can imagine what it was like first hearing B.B. King back in the early 1950s. A guitarist of extraordinary skill, tone, and phrasing as well as a strong, emotionally powerful vocalist, Marquise Knox is a bluesman you're going to want to keep an eye on." - Rev. Keith A. Gordon/Blues Revue

"Every note and every word sounds as if it's coming from deep within his heart, there can be little doubt about Knox himself: he's the real deal, and he can only get deeper and better with age." - David Whiteis/Living Blues

Marquise Knox Here I Am Track Listing:

1.  Here I Am 
2.  You Better Pray 
3.  Two Can Play Your Game 
4.  Tears Feel Like Rain 
5.  Feel Like Goin' Home 

1.  America's Blues 
2.  Coming For Your Loving 
3.  Can A Young Man Play The Blues? 
4.  Love Me Through The Pain 
5.  I Can't Be Statisfied 
6.  I'm Bad 
7.  Two Trains Running 

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Here I Am
2. You Better Pray
3. Two Can Play Your Game
4. Tears Feel Like Rain
5. Feel Like Goin' Home LP2
1. America's Blues
2. Coming For Your Loving
3. Can A Young Man Play The Blues?
4. Love Me Through The Pain
5. I Can't Be Statisfied
6. I'm Bad
7. Two Trains Running

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.