FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Mary J. Blige - The London Sessions (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Mary J. Blige The London Sessions

(Vinyl 2LP)

$5.00 - 20%
23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LDB28358

Mary J. Blige The London Sessions on 2LP 

Featuring Collaborations with Disclosure, Eg White, Emeli Sandé, Jimmy Napes, Naughty Boy, Sam Romans & Sam Smith

The Queen Mary J. Blige traveled across the Atlantic to record her new album. With The London Sessions, her thirteenth studio album and first for Capitol Records, the legendary artist took a leap of faith and ventured far out of her comfort zone, both geographically and musically. The album was born in a whirlwind 20 days - 10 days writing and 10 days recording - and finds Blige forging vital creative connections with some of today's most celebrated U.K. musical talent, including Disclosure, Eg White, Emile Sandé, Jimmy Napes, Naughty Boy, Sam Romans and Sam Smith. Many of the artists she had not even met prior to their sessions together.

After teaming up with Disclosure in early 2014 for a remix of "F for You," which became a Top 10 dance hit in the U.K., Blige made plans to record an EP with the acclaimed house music duo. Happily, she found the scope of the project widening as introductions were made and London's vibrant musical community embraced her, excited about playing a role in her evolution as an artist. Longtime collaborator Rodney Jenkins also joined Mary in the studio and produced several tracks. "I was never expected to do more, jump further, go the extra mile," recalls Blige. "But breaking boundaries happened for me the minute I left Yonkers. And I won't stop as long as I live." 

"Vocally, Blige has never sounded better," said SPIN while Complex observed, "Mary once again proves why she is a legend in the game." "This new album has a distinctively fresh sound that is new for Blige, but it still keeps the emotive soul that we love from her," noted Idolator. Vulture hailed lead single "Therapy," which Blige co-wrote with Smith and Eg White, as "gorgeous" and named it as one of the "Best Songs of the Week." 

With worldwide sales in excess of 50 million and a track record of eight multi-platinum albums, nine Grammy Awards (and a staggering 31 nominations), a 2012 Golden Globe nomination and four American Music Awards, Mary J. Blige is a global superstar whose talents translate to all continents. The sublime, The London Sessions is just more proof of that!

Mary J. Blige The London Sessions Track Listing:

1.  Therapy
2.  Doubt
3.  Not Loving You
4.  When You’re Gone
5.  Right Now
6.  My Loving

1.  Long Hard Look
2.  Whole Damn Year
3.  Nobody But You
4.  Pick Me Up
5.  Follow
6.  Worth My Time
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Therapy
2. Doubt
3. Not Loving You
4. When You’re Gone
5. Right Now
6. My Loving

1. Long Hard Look
2. Whole Damn Year
3. Nobody But You
4. Pick Me Up
5. Follow
6. Worth My Time

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.