FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Miles Davis - Miles Ahead: Soundtrack (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Miles Davis - Miles Ahead: Soundtrack

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDD66810

Miles Davis Miles Ahead (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) on 180g 2LP

Soundtrack to the 2016 Film featuring Classic Miles Davis Tracks, Original Compositions & Movie Dialogue / Produced by Robert Glasper

Miles Ahead tells the story of a few lost days in the life of Miles Davis (Don Cheadle), the virtuoso, fighter and genius, as he bursts out of his silent period, conspires with a Rolling Stone writer (Ewan McGregor) to steal back his music, and relives the years he had with his great love, Frances Taylor (Emayatzy Corinealdi). Davis' mercurial behavior is fueled by memories of his failed marriage to the talented and beautiful dancer. During their romance and subsequent marriage, Frances served as Davis' muse. It was during this period that he released several of his signature recordings including the groundbreaking Sketches of Spain and Someday My Prince Will Come.

"Miles was many things...a supreme artist and a national treasure but also an enigma to those around him, especially during his so-called quiet period," said director and star Cheadle. "With the family's blessing and Miles' tenets on creativity as our guide, we used these cloistered years as a jumping off point to compose the story of a self-exiled artist creating his own ‘centrifugal adventure' to spin himself back into playing music again."

The accompanying original motion picture soundtrack features 11 essential tracks spanning 1956 to 1981, select dialogue from the film featuring Cheadle in character, and five original compositions written, co-written, produced and/or performed exclusively for Miles Ahead by Robert Glasper. These include "What's Wrong with That?" (a jam that closes the movie imagining Cheadle as Miles playing in the present day with guest performers Glasper, Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Gary Clark, Jr., Esperanza Spalding and Antonio Sanchez) and "Gone 2015," an end-credits song featuring guest verses from rapper Pharoahe Monch. Comes complete with revelatory new liner notes penned by Cheadle.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Miles Ahead
2. Dialogue: "It takes a long time..."
3. So What
4. Taylor Made
5. Dialogue: "Listen, you talk too goddamn much..."
6. Seven Steps to Heaven
7. Dialogue: "If you gonna tell a story..."
8. Frelon Brun
9. Dialogue: "Sometimes you have these thoughts..."
10. Duran (Take 6)

1. Dialogue: "You own my music..."
2. Go Ahead John (part two C)
3. Black Satin
4. Dialogue: "Be musical about this shit..."
5. Prelude, Pt. 2
6. Dialogue: "Y'all listening to them..."
7. Junior's Jam
8. Francessence
9. Back Seat Betty
10. Dialogue: "I don't like the word jazz..."
11. What's Wrong with That?
12. Gone 2015

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.