FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Miles Davis - Miles Davis Quintet: Freedom Jazz Dance-Bootleg Series 5 (Vinyl 3LP)
Click to Enlarge

Miles Davis - Miles Davis Quintet: Freedom Jazz Dance-Bootleg Series 5

(Vinyl 3LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (2)
Item: LDD41611

3LP-Set Celebrating Miles' "Second Great Quintet" featuring Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter & Tony Williams: Previously Unreleased Studio Recordings from 1966-1968

The fifth volume of Miles Davis' The Bootleg Series will focus on studio recordings of Davis' "second great quintet," celebrating the 50th anniversary of their landmark album Miles Smiles. Miles Davis Quintet: Freedom Jazz Dance: The Bootleg Series Vol. 5 finds Miles in 1966, during the prime time he spent playing with a quintet he'd assembled two years prior. Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone), Herbie Hancock (piano), Ron Carter (bass) and Tony Williams (drums) were all bold, young talents in the jazz world, and their energy revitalized Miles' own.

Their first LP together, 1965's E.S.P., featured material written mostly by the other members of the quintet, and Miles' own free jazz-inspired "time, no changes" performance style with these vibrant musicians allowed for a much greater group dynamic than ever before. The material on the 3LP-set Freedom Jazz Dance was recorded mostly in sessions for Columbia Records between 1966 and 1968 with longtime Mile producer Teo Macero. Most of the master takes of this material were first released on Miles Smiles, the quintet's second album, released in 1967, while other tracks appeared on the albums Nefertiti (1968) and Water Babies (1976).

Sourced from original four-track analog session reels and master tapes transferred and mixed in high resolution at 24-bit/192 kHz, the full presentation of these recordings on Freedom Jazz Dance, produced for release by the multiple Grammy Award-winning team of Steve Berkowitz, Michael Cuscuna, Richard Seidel and engineer Mark Wilder, allows for a richer look at Miles and his quintet. These performances anticipate the bold new directions Miles and members of this quintet would take during his "electric" period at the end of the 1960s. Accompanying studio dialogue allows us to hear the development of master tracks, offering a rare peak into the creative process of these legends.

The collection also includes a unique, unreleased track, "Blues in F (My Ding)." Recorded at home by Miles during the same period as the studio sessions, "Blues in F (My Ding)" finds Miles working out a new composition on piano and engaging in lively, informal conversation with Shorter. Grammy Award-winning author Ashley Kahn, author of Kind of Blue: The Making of the Miles Davis Masterpiece, penned the liner notes to this collection.

• 3LP-set celebrating Miles' "second great quintet" featuring Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter and Tony Williams
• Previously unreleased recordings including unedited session reels featuring alternate takes and studio session dialogue
• Mixed and mastered in high resolution (24-bit/192 kHz) audio
• Also includes "Blues in F (My Ding)," a unique home recording featuring Miles on piano
• Liner notes by Ashley Kahn

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Freedom Jazz Dance (Session Reel)
  2. Circle (Session Reel)
  3. Circle (Take 5)
  4. Circle (Take 6)
  5. Dolores (Session Reel)
  1. Orbits (Session Reel)
  2. Footprints (Session Reel)
  3. Gingerbread Boy (Session Reel)
  4. Fall (Session Reel)
  1. Nefertiti (Session Reel)
  2. Water Babies (Session Reel)
  3. Masqualero (Alt. Take 3)
  4. Country Son (Rhythm Section Rehearsal)
  5. Blues in F (My Ding)
  6. Play Us Your Eight (Miles Speaks)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.