FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Minus The Bear - Infinity Overhead (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Minus The Bear - Infinity Overhead

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDM9015
Minus The Bear Infinity Overhead on LP

Bristling with guitar acrobatics and infectious melodies, Minus the Bear’s fifth studio full-length album, Infinity Overhead, which will be released on Dangerbird Records, is not only a return to form in direction, instrumentation and creation but also the band’s most aggressive and confident. The veteran Seattle-based fivesome reunited with former member and longtime producer Matt Bayles (Mastodon, Isis, Cursive) to create a guitar-laden 10-track record that is heavy both on technicality and pop songcraft and showcases the band doing what they do best; interesting, guitar-based, big sounding rock.

While the smooth and sensual Omni saw the band experimenting with keyboards and a new producer, Infinity Overhead sees the quintet building on their trademark sound and putting the focus back on guitars. And it’s the guitars that really drive this record. Knudson and Snider color each song with layers and layers of intricate and inventive guitar textures, tones and noise. There’s the usual chugging power chords, string bending, finger tapping, searing fretwork and circular riffs that the band is known for but while the album also features some of Minus the Bear’s most complex guitar playing to date, including some of their gnarliest guitar tones ever as evidenced on “Lonely Gun,” it is also their most accessible, filled to the brim with big pop hooks and catchy choruses.

In order to make the record they had in mind, Minus the Bear reunited with Bayles, former founding member and producer of the band’s acclaimed albums, Planet Of Ice and Menos El Oso. “Stepping back into the studio with Matt felt really comfortable,” says Knudson. “There was no education or learning curve, he knows us so well and how we work that it was just right back into the swing of things.” Murchy adds: “It was like old times, but both Matt and the band have had time to work outside with other people and we were both able to bring back what we learned and apply it to the old feeling.”

Minus The Bear Infinity Overhead Track Listing:

1.  Steel and Blood
2.  Lies and Eyes
3.  Diamond Lightning
4.  Toska
5.  Listing
6.  Heaven Is A Ghost Town
7.  Empty Party Rooms
8.  Zeros
9.  Lonely Gun
10. Cold Company

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Steel and Blood
2. Lies and Eyes
3. Diamond Lightning
4. Toska
5. Listing
6. Heaven Is A Ghost Town
7. Empty Party Rooms
8. Zeros
9. Lonely Gun
10. Cold Company

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More