FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Mogwai - Come on Die Young (LIMITED EDITION Vinyl 180G 4LP)
Click to Enlarge

Mogwai Come on Die Young


$25.00 - 25%
23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (20)
Item: LDM91610

Mogwai Come On Die Young on Limited Edition 180g 4LP Box Set + Download

Featuring the Original Album on 2LPs & 2LPs of Bonus Material

Arriving in March 1999 with an album cover that referenced The Exorcist and a title scalped from a well-known Glasgow gang slogan, you’d have expected Mogwai’s Come On Die Young to be an apocalypse-harbouring, pre-millennial assault on the senses. Instead, we were treated to a darkly elegiac - surprisingly restrained - response to the aural fireworks of their Young Team debut from two years earlier.

Recorded and mixed at Dave Fridmann's Tarbox Road Studios in Upstate New York, Come On Die Young begins with a sample of Iggy Pop eulogizing the genius of punk rock and ends with a track entitled "Punk Rock/Puff Daddy/Antichrist." This thoughtful and irreverent diptych enclosed an hour of music that was as beautiful as it was blistering and as poignant as it was unpredictable: preconceptions of what to expect from a Mogwai album, disassembled at a stroke.

Come On Die Young was - and remains - a hugely accomplished, elegant and important album, setting a benchmark for the fierce intelligence that would characterize Mogwai’s future body of work. The reissue of Come On Die Young - fifteen years after it originally hit the shelves - recognizes the vital role this album played in Chemikal Underground’s development as the label approaches its 20th anniversary in 2015. 

• Previously unreleased takes from early Chem19 sessions of Waltz For Aidan, Christmas Steps, Rollerball and 7-25 which featured on Zidane: A 21st Century Portrait
• 7 remixed/remastered tracks from CAVA, pre-dating the final Tarbox sessions
• Two previously unreleased tracks "Satchel Panzer" and "Spoon Test"
• Rarities "Nick Drake," "Hugh Dallas" and the 3 track Travels In Constants EP
• The original, previously unreleased version of "Helps Both Ways"
• A1 San Siro poster for Mogwai’s Barrowland Ballroom show from October ’99
• Boxset includes 4 x 180 gram LPs featuring original 2LPs and 2LPs of bonus material.
• Two Chem19 Demos are exclusive to the boxset: "Christmas Steps" and "7-25"
• Boxset also includes a download code for all audio

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
Mogwai Come On Die Young Track Listing:

LP1 - Come On Die Young (original album)
1.  Punk Rock
2.  Cody
3.  Helps Both Ways
4.  Year 2000 Non-Compliant Cardia
5.  Kappa
6.  Waltz For Aidan
7.  May Nothing But Happiness Come Through Your Door

LP2 - Come On Die Young (original album)
1.  Oh! How The Dogs Stack Up
2.  Ex-Cowboy
3.  Chocky
4.  Christmas Steps
5.  Punk Rock/Puff Daddy/Antichrist

LP3 - Come On Die Young (bonus material)
1.  Nick Drake
2.  Waltz For Aidan (Chem19 Demo)
3.  Christmas Steps (Chem19 Demo) - exclusive to boxset
4.  Rollerball  (Chem19 Demo)
5.  7-25  (Chem19 Demo) - exclusive to boxset
6.  Untitled (Travel In Constants EP)
7.  Quiet Stereo Dee (Travel In Constants EP)
8.  Arundel (Travel In Constants EP)

LP4 - Come On Die Young (bonus material)
1.  Cody (Cava Sessions)
2.  Ex Cowboy (Cava Sessions)
3.  Spoon Test (Cava Sessions)
4.  Punk Rock: (Cava Sessions)
5.  Helicon 2 (Cava Church Live)
6.  Satchel Panzer (Cava Sessions)
7.  Kappa (Cava Church Live)
8.  Helps Both Ways (Original Version)
9.  Hugh Dallas

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.