FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Moodymann - DJ-Kicks (Vinyl 3LP)
Click to Enlarge

Moodymann - DJ-Kicks

(Vinyl 3LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDM32713

Moodymann DJ-Kicks on 3LP

Following a year that saw the 50th entry in the long-running series released to wide acclaim, DJ-Kicks returns in 2016 another landmark edition. Iconic Detroit DJ and producer Moodymann is at the helm for his first ever multi-artist DJ mix compilation. Born Kenny Dixon Jr., Moodymann is a one-of-a-kind electronic music icon, hailing from, and wholly synonymous with the Motor City. He is an outspoken, impossibly charismatic artist who has been putting a distinctive and soulful stamp on house and techno since the early 90s.

Melting together jazz, funk, soul, blues and rock in captivating ways, he is responsible for some of electronic music's most definitive tracks, EPs and LPs on labels like Planet E, Peacefrog and his own KDJ and Mahogani Music imprints. As able to serve up the sweetest and most sensual sounds as he is the darkest and most depraved grooves, his own unique voice and stream of conscious musings infuse expertly sought-out samples for music that is decisively alive and authentic.

Across 19-tracks and 3LPs, Moodymann does not disappoint: despite being a notorious vinyl fetishist, Dixon's aim is to present music of quality, not to one-up fellow collectors. Rather than serving up ridiculously rare or hard-to-find records, he instead focuses on creating a libidinous, blues-drenched mood that takes in heart-breaking soul, gorgeous hip-hop and love-fueled house. In addition to cuts from his own creative circle, the mix also features exclusive Moodymann edits. Like everything Kenny Dixon Jr. touches, DJ-Kicks showcases the taste, skill, and soul of a dance music original.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Yaw – Where Will You Be
2. Flying Lotus feat. Andreya Triana – Tea Leaf Dancers
3. Les Sins – Grind
4. Noir & Haze – Around (Solomun Vox)
5. Julien Dyne feat. Mara TK – Stained Glass Fresh Frozen
6. Jitwam – Keepyourbusinesstoyourself

1. Dopehead – Guttah Guttah
2. Talc – Robot's Return (Modern Sleepover Part 2)
3. Peter Digital Orchestra – Jeux De Langues
4. Jai Paul – BTSTU
5. Beady Belle – When My Anger Starts To Cry
6. Daniel Bortz – Cuz You're The One
7. Joeski feat. Jesánte – How Do I Go On

1. Nightmares On Wax – Les Nuits
2. SLF & Merkin – Tag Team Triangle
3. Lady Alma – It's House Music
4. Tirogo – Disco Maniac
5. Kings Of Tomorrow feat. April – Fall For You (Sandy Rivera's Classic Mix)
6. Soulful Session, Lynn Lockamy – Hostile Takeover

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.