FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Morgoth - Ungod (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Morgoth Ungod

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDM22416

Morgoth Ungod on 180g LP    

First Full-Length Release in 19 Years!

Ungod is the stunning new reunion record from pioneering German death metal band Morgoth. In late 2013 and early 2014, Morgoth took some months off from playing shows focusing on songwriting, since the good atmosphere and newly sparked creativity after their return in 2011 naturally caused some new ideas to come up. Right before an incredibly successful and mostly sold out European tour with Bolt Thrower and re-releases of their Pits Of Utumno demo on vinyl as well as their Odium album, the first brand-new Morgoth music after more than 15 years was launched in August 2014 with the release of the “God Is Evil” 7” EP, intended as appetizer for an upcoming studio album.

However, and despite the positive feedback on all fronts, the single turned out to become the last new recording with original vocalist Marc Grewe, as the band decided to part ways with him and instead move on to Karsten “Jagger” Jäger (also in Disbelief) as his replacement. Certainly not an ideal situation for a comeback album, but Jagger’s intense vocal delivery the band’s trademark riffing, gloomy feeling and memorable, straight forward approach on Ungod is true to Morgoth’s legacy, which could be stylistically best ranged somewhere the Curse and Odium releases in the band’s catalogue and should leave no longterm supporter of the band unimpressed. 

Following the dynamic overture piece “House Of Blood,” the rhythmical energy of the opening “Voice Of Slumber” and the relentless heaviness of “Snakestate” and “Black Enemy,” the album continues both a merciless and yet extremely diverse path with the up-tempo of “Descent Into Hell” as well as a first epic intermezzo with the album’s instrumental title track “Ungod” closing off the first chapter. Things pick up steam again with the catchy brutality of “Nemesis” and the title-track of the preceding EP, “God Is Evil”, before reaching another furious cornerstone with “Traitor.” The album’s ending section showcases the versatile and grooving “Prison In Flesh,” which carries over into an atmospheric final instrumental-piece dubbed “The Dark Sleep.” 

The album was recorded, mixed and mastered in November and December 2014 by Jörn Michutta and Matthias Klinkmann at Sound Division Tonstudio in the band’s initial home-area of Sauerland, Germany, after having successfully tested the studio for the “God Is Evil” EP. The album’s artwork was created by Greece’s Seth Siro Anton, who has already worked for bands such as Paradise Lost, Soilwork or also Moonspell.

Morgoth Ungod Track Listing: 

1.  House Of Blood
2.  Voice Of Slumber
3.  Snakestate
4.  Black Enemy
5.  Descent Into Hell
6.  Ungod
7.  Nemesis
8.  God Is Evil
9.  Traitor
10. Prison In Flesh
11. The Dark Sleep

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. House Of Blood
2. Voice Of Slumber
3. Snakestate
4. Black Enemy
5. Descent Into Hell
6. Ungod
7. Nemesis
8. God Is Evil

9. Traitor
10. Prison In Flesh
11. The Dark Sleep

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.