FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Motion City Soundtrack - Panic Stations (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Motion City Soundtrack - Panic Stations

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDM37413

Motion City Soundtrack Panic Stations on LP + Download

While on tour in the summer of 2013, Justin Pierre (vocals), Josh Cain (guitar), Jesse Johnson (keyboard), Matt Taylor (bass), Claudio Rivera (drums) began to write new material, initially for fun until eventually they found themselves with a collection of new songs. There was no preconceived vision or theme to the process, just the underlying goal to create music the band enjoyed playing together in one room. To help capture that energy, sixth album Panic Stations was recorded live in June of 2014 and was produced by John Agnello at Seedy Underbelly North in Cannon Falls, Minnesota. The band loved Agnello’s prior work in producing and/or mixing albums by Dinosaur Jr., Jawbox, Sonic Youth and recently Kurt Vile and The Hold Steady.

Panic Stations, was named after nautical structures that act as warning posts in the oceans. Many of the songs reference water and the ocean, and there is an overarching idea of letting go and not being immobilized by your own thoughts. Pierre drew on an array of literary influences with song lyrics inspired by Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close and A Million Little Pieces. The process of creating these new songs, which open a new chapter in the band’s storied career, was based on instinct and openness, a methodology that resulted in a buoyant, impassioned record. And the feeling of their renewed pleasure for the craft resonates through each note and lyric, leaving the listener as inspired as they sound.

The music itself is invigorated and propulsive. “Lose Control” builds into an intense, emotionally raw chorus that mirrors Pierre’s plea to relinquish control while “TKO” pares the music down to its lively rock ‘n’ roll core, focusing on the deft combination of guitars and rhythms and revealing the fervor of MCS’ live performance. “Over It Now,” a raucous standout, amps up that performative energy, reminding fans of the band’s infectious enthusiasm for the stage, which the band bought on tour recently for their successful 10 year anniversary tour of Commit This To Memory.

Panic Stations is as exciting to listen to as it was for the musicians to make. The feeling of their renewed pleasure for the craft resonates through each note and lyric, leaving you just as inspired as they sound. 
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1.  Anything At All
2.  TKO
3.  I Can Feel You
4.  Lose Control
5.  Heavy Boots
6.  It’s A Pleasure To Meet You
7.  Over It Now
8.  Broken Arrow
9.  Gravity
10. The Samurai Code
11. Days Will Run Away      

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.