FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Mozes and The Firstborn - Great Pile of Nothing (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Mozes and The Firstborn - Great Pile of Nothing

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDM31813

Mozes and the Firstborn return on Burger Records in September 2016 with the release of their second record Great Pile of Nothing. The Dutch four-piece came out with their debut album on Burger in 2013 and the past few years have found the band busy touring around the world and crafting new songs. A fresh musical direction was initiated earlier this year with the Power Ranger EP and a European tour alongside long-time Burger buddies Pangea.

The new material is less garage rock oriented and has a more 90's alternative high school rock vibe to it. The band recorded the album over a three-month period in the winter of 2015/2016 with drummer Raven Aartsen as producer. "It's a pretty contemplative album," says singer Melle Dielesen. On first listen the title track "Great Pile of Nothing" is a happy-go-lucky, Beatlesque song, but if one listens closely it's the bleak summary of an album that deals with depression and how to live with or through it: "See no need to fight / 'cause deep inside / I will always be / less than no one to me."

Both musically and lyrically the record explores a wide variety of emotions and atmospheres. The spaced-out "All Will Fall to Waste" comforts the listener by saying that "this is just a phase," even though "all will fall to waste." Slacker banger "OC/DC" is a tongue-in-cheek track about a rockstar afraid to leave the house because of his obsessive-compulsive behavior. "Crawl" is a hypnotic grunge jam that delves deep into the dark heart of sexuality. And Guided by Voices shouldn't be ashamed to cover "Crybaby," a power-pop gem about the little whining child that's deep inside all of us.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Land Of A 1000 Dreams
  2. Great Pile Of Nothing
  3. Crybaby
  4. Power Ranger
  5. OC/DC
  6. Snowman
  7. All Will Fall To Waste
  8. Mayday
  9. Till The Feeling's Gone
  10. Crawl
  11. It's Over
  12. Cruel Wide World

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.