FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Nat King Cole - The Nat King Cole Story (Vinyl 180g 45RPM 5LP)
Click to Enlarge

Nat King Cole - The Nat King Cole Story

(Vinyl 180g 45RPM 5LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LAP1613-45

Nat King Cole The Nat King Cole Story on 180g 45RPM 5LP Box Set from Analogue Productions

You Wanted the Best, You Got It: Mastered from the Original 3-Track Master Tapes by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman at Acoustech

Exquisite Sonics: Cole's Voice Has Never Sounded as Rich, Balanced, or Immediate

Momentous Career-Spanning Collection a Must for Any Fan of Vocal Music

Sumptuous Set Spans 38 Songs, Includes Canvas-Bound Embossed Box and Deluxe Booklet

Cole's Just One Of Those Things, Where Did Everyone Go?, St. Louis Blues, After Midnight, Love Is the Thing, and The Very Thought of You also Available on 180g 45RPM LP from Analogue Productions  

You wanted the best, you got it. We guarantee you will revel in the music, sound, and presentation here on Analogue Productions' blockbuster set. One of Nat King Cole's crowning achievements, and a fittingly lavish celebration of a cultural and musical icon, The Nat King Cole Story offers a glorious overview of the career of one of the greatest and most beloved performers in popular music history. Containing 38 tracks, many re-recorded in stereo for this anthology, this unmatched set spans the entirety of his distinguished career.

Cole's early beginnings leading the popular jazz-oriented Nat King Cole Trio are documented with selections including "Route 66" and "I Love You (For Sentimental Reasons)." But that's just the tip of the iceberg. Hits including "Nature Boy," "Mona Lisa," "Unforgettable," "Orange Colored Sky," "Night Lights," and "Looking Back" represent his unparalleled string of memorable hits as a popular vocalist. "Calypso Blues" and "Ay Cosita Linda" help illustrate the range his projects could cover. More contemporary to this anthology, selections including "Wild Is Love" are augmented with the two huge hits, "Ramblin' Rose" and "Those Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer," to further expand the musical scope.

A talent and voice for all times with a body of work that defined their eras, Nat King Cole's career offers some of the finest, most enduring and treasured recordings ever made. Of course, Cole could never be fully served by any one set. But this wonderful cornucopia stands as a fantastic celebration for the enthusiast and a good starting point for someone just beginning to explore.

Using the original first generation 2-track and 3-track session tapes from Capitol's vaults and all-analog systems comprised of custom headstacks, 3-track preview heads, and a console and monitoring chain installed at AcousTech specially for these releases, mastering engineers Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman realize the stunning beauty of these recordings in this 45RPM 180-gram five album set.

Originally presented as a deluxe box set of 3 LPs in a canvas-bound embossed box with essays and pictures included in a album-sized booklet, The Nat "King" Cole Story was always a prestigious release. But Analogue Productions has now made it incredible. Complete with 5 LPs, canvas-bound embossed box, and a booklet with essays and pictures, the audiophile label's effort proudly recreates the experience for a new generation to cherish with a historic release that epitomizes the meaning of "deluxe." This is a no-expenses-spared project, resulting in the ultimate version of this title.

Of the 38 songs in this collection, three are also included in the same recordings included on other Analogue Productions Nat "King" Cole reissues. "Stardust" (track 28) is the same version included on Love Is The Thing. "St. Louis Blues" (track 30) is the same version included on the album of that title. And "Paradise" (track 33) is the same version included on The Very Thought Of You. Three more songs ("Sweet Lorraine," "It's Only A Paper Moon" and "(Get Your Kicks On) Route 66" appear on After Midnight, however these versions are stereo re-recordings of the original arrangements from the 1940s.

No matter how you look at it, this collection can't be beat. Never before has this set sounded so sumptuous, with every detail and nuance restored in a manner that places you in the recording studio with Cole. An unparalleled sonic and music experience!

Nat King Cole The Nat King Cole Story Track Listing:

1.        Straighten Up And Fly Right
2.        Sweet Lorraine
3.        It's Only A Paper Moon
4.        (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66
5.        (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
6.        The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You)
7.        Nature Boy
8.        Lush Life
9.        Calypso Blues
10.       Mona Lisa
11.       Orange Colored Sky
12.       Too Young
13.       Unforgettable
14.       Somewhere Along The Way
15.       Walkin’ My Baby Back Home
16.       Pretend
17.       Blue Gardenia
18.       I Am In Love
19.       Answer Me, My Love
20.       Smile
21.       Darling, Je Vous Aime Beaucoup
22.       The Sand And The Sea
23.       If I May
24.       A Blossom Fell
25.       To The Ends Of The Earth
26.       Night Lights
27.       Ballerina
28.       Stardust
29.       Send For Me
30.       St. Louis Blues
31.       Looking Back
32.       Non Dimenticar (Don’t Forget)
33.       Paradise
34.       Oh, Mary, Don’t You Weep
35.       Ay, Cosita Linda
36.       Wild Is Love
37.       Ramblin’ Rose
38.       Those Lazy-Hazy-Crazy Days Of Summer 

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Straighten Up And Fly Right
2. Sweet Lorraine
3. It's Only A Paper Moon
4. (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66
5. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
6. The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You)
7. Nature Boy
8. Lush Life
9. Calypso Blues
10. Mona Lisa
11. Orange Colored Sky
12. Too Young
13. Unforgettable
14. Somewhere Along The Way
15. Walkin’ My Baby Back Home
16. Pretend
17. Blue Gardenia
18. I Am In Love
19. Answer Me, My Love
20. Smile
21. Darling, Je Vous Aime Beaucoup
22. The Sand And The Sea
23. If I May
24. A Blossom Fell
25. To The Ends Of The Earth
26. Night Lights
27. Ballerina
28. Stardust
29. Send For Me
30. St. Louis Blues
31. Looking Back
32. Non Dimenticar (Don’t Forget)
33. Paradise
34. Oh, Mary, Don’t You Weep
35. Ay, Cosita Linda
36. Wild Is Love
37. Ramblin’ Rose
38. Those Lazy-Hazy-Crazy Days Of Summer

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More