FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Night Beds - Country Sleep (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Night Beds - Country Sleep

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDN7513
Night Beds Country Sleep on LP + Download

Welcome to the sound of Winston Yellen and Night Beds, who in one stunning 10-track debut album Country Sleep, have shown that there is plenty of life left in the world of American music if you have the voice, the songs and the gift to touch hearts and souls. Think of a space between Mark Kozelek (Red House Painters/Sun Kil Moon), Gram Parsons and the dreamier side of My Morning Jacket; a heavenly place of pure country soul, touched by an endearing innocence and honesty that can only come from someone still in their early twenties.

From Colorado Springs, and now a resident of Nashville where he first moved to study, Yellen’s road to Country Sleep has been anything but the straightest and easiest. In 2006, he formed Night Beds and self released three rudimentary EPs between 2008 and 2011. Waylaid by what Yellen’s friend Nika States recalls as, “a lot of alcohol, and a lot of irreverent tuning,” he dropped out of college. After losing his job and girlfriend, and in the spirit of the country classic “Me & Bobby McGee,” Yellen took off on a five-month sojourn. 

Moving from state to state, he lived out of his hatchback car performing menial odd jobs and mopping church floors until, he says, “a friend instilled in me the need to cut the bullshit and move back to Nashville.” Taking out a loan, Yellen rented an out-of-town, pre-civil war home in the woods that was previously owned by the late Johnny Cash and June Carter (and still maintained by the couple’s friends). Inspired by the serendipity of the discovery, he started working on Country Sleep, both in his country retreat and back in civilization at Nashville’s Brown Owl studio.

Country Sleep begins with just a voice, a high and tender lament, for 71 precious seconds; a spirit to be reckoned with. Next up, a full band kicks up some dust behind a deliciously bittersweet melody. After that, more beautiful crooning unfolds over a violin/guitar backdrop that keeps building until the pace momentarily quickens to the sound of handclaps before a sudden, heart-aching fade. The album concludes with “TENN,” as in Tennessee, written the next day after the night before, hungover and lost. 

Yellen admits the songs were often born out of, “destructive circumstances, and many varied attempts to sedate myself.” Indeed, anyone listening to Country Sleep, whose title harks back to the ‘night bed’ in the back of his car, will also find the record a cathartic experience.

Night Beds Country Sleep Track Listing:

1.  Faithful Heights
2.  Ramona
3.  Even If We Try
4.  22
5.  Borrowed Time
6.  Cherry Blossoms
7.  Wanted You In August
8.  Lost Springs
9.  Was I For You?
10. TENN
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Faithful Heights
2. Ramona
3. Even If We Try
4. 22
5. Borrowed Time
6. Cherry Blossoms
7. Wanted You In August
8. Lost Springs
9. Was I For You?
10. TENN

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.