FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > No Joy - More Faithful (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

No Joy - More Faithful

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDN20011

No Joy More Faithful on Limited Edition LP + Download

More Faithful is No Joy’s third full-length for Mexican Summer. Throughout the album, singer/guitarist Jasamine White-Gluz, guitarist Laura Lloyd, drummer Garland Hastings, and bassist Michael Farsky (formerly of Dirty Beaches’ live band) push themselves to new peaks of intensity. The album bears the fruits of a band that has refined its work ethic in the gulf of time between recording sessions. The outcome – a juxtaposition of unrest and calm, beauty and chaos, truth and fantasy, in the throes of maxed-out amps and hair-whipping guitar goddess rock music – is as unwavering as ever.

Where No Joy’s last album, Wait To Pleasure balanced textural differences with the freewheeling novelty of the studio environment, More Faithful documents a much more rigorous creative process and performance. For More Faithful No Joy worked with musician and producer Jorge Elbrecht (Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, Chairlift, Lansing-Dreiden). Recording was split between tracking at Brooklyn studio Gary’s Electric and an old farmhouse in Costa Rica.

In this rural Costa Rican setting, Elbrecht created a makeshift but nurturing studio environment where he and No Joy did the mixing, overdubs and cut vocals for 12 hours a day. Repairing themselves to an isolated environment strengthened No Joy’s regimented approach to making a record that satisfied their vision. There is no question that More Faithful is the most forward, throttling record No Joy has made, taking their sound to the wall in a brazen display of beauty-laced power. At times More Faithful is heavier than anything they’ve done yet, while also their fastest – riffs shooting upward in discord and drifting down in angelic harmonies.

No Joy More Faithful Track Listing:

1.  Remember Nothing
2.  Everything New
3.  Hollywood Teeth
4.  Moon in My Mouth
5.  Burial in Twos
6.  Corpo Dæmon
7.  Bolas
8.  Chalk Snake
9.  Rude Films
10. I Am An Eye Machine
11. Judith 

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Remember Nothing
2. Everything New
3. Hollywood Teeth
4. Moon in My Mouth
5. Burial in Twos
6. Corpo Dæmon
7. Bolas
8. Chalk Snake
9. Rude Films
10. I Am An Eye Machine
11. Judith

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.