FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > North - Light The Way (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

North Light The Way

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDN25010

North Light The Way on LP

In the decade-plus they've been a band, the Tucson, AZ-based trio North has ebbed and flowed their way into becoming one of the most respected outfits in the underground metal scene. Despite a series of lineup changes and personal setbacks, North has returned stronger and more focused than ever on their debut full-length release for Prosthetic Records, Light The Way. Originally starting off in 2005 as an instrumental act, North has continued to push the boundaries of the heavier side of post-rock. 

Formed by Evan Leek (bass) and Zack Hansen (drums) and rounded out by guitarists Ty Engle and Matt Mutterperl, the band's first recordings were done in Hansen's bedroom and self-released. With their debut 2006 EP Siberia, they soon made a name for themselves in the Arizona scene, supporting others in the genre such as Caspian, Tera Melos and This Will Destroy You on those bands' southwestern tour stops. Eventually, the group decided to expand the sound of the band, adding vocals on 2008's What You Were, which was met with critical acclaim and expanded touring throughout the U.S. 

When it came time for the band to begin work on their next record, numerous line-up changes occurred. Writing stopped, started, stopped again and at times the band wondered if it would ever restart again. Amazingly enough, this turmoil produced their best material to date. The Great Silence, released in the summer of 2012, was a compelling fusion of post-rock and metal and garnered their finest reviews yet. The band toured for a year to support the album, but after two members left the group, North once again questioned its future.

The three remaining members, Leek, Hansen and Mutterperl, regrouped and sat down to write for the first time as a three-piece and found the chemistry the best it had ever been. Four tracks came together quickly, which was released as the Metanoia EP, and the guys did what they do best: play live. There seemed to be a genuine rebirth in the band as they embarked their most extensive touring to date. It was shortly after this that the group signed to Prosthetic Records – which reissued Metanoia and Siberia – and quickly began working on new material, not wanting to lose the momentum they were feeling. 

The two-track single, "Through Raven's Eyes," recorded in early 2015, saw the band at possibly its darkest and heaviest, musically speaking. Now, with Light The Way, North begins a new chapter – one that kicks off with the highest-profile shows of the band's career.

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Moonswan
2. Light The Way
3. Weight of All Thoughts
4. Earthmind
5. Primal Bloom
6. Rhef Anad
7. On A Beaten Crooked Path
8. From This Soil
9. Relativity

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.