FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Orange Juice - You Can't Hide Your Love Forever (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Orange Juice You Can't Hide Your Love Forever

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDO4916

Orange Juice You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever on 180g LP + Download Card

Due to overwhelming demand, Domino Recording Company is pressing vinyl editions of the original Orange Juice albums - You Can't Hide Your Love Forever (1982), Rip It Up (1982), Texas Fever (1984) and The Orange Juice (1984) - all four of which were previously unreleased in America. These vinyl editions represent the only existing physical versions of the albums available at this juncture. Each album has been remastered for vinyl, includes the original lyric sheet and printed inner sleeves (save for Texas Fever which had none) and will also come with a download card

Scottish bands like Belle & Sebastian, Franz Ferdinand, Mogwai, and Jesus and Mary Chain will all concur: If it were not for Orange Juice in the late '70s and early '80s, they would not sound the way they do. Their musical environments would have a limited, London/Manchester-built landscape. Their artist manifestos would have read like the Sex Pistols liner notes. Their outlook on punk, art, pop, and the space where music meets commerce would have been drastically different.

Orange Juice were revolutionary innovators, both musically and commercially. They were indie before "indie" was a word, and their subtly provocative sound and image was unlike anything anyone had ever heard. And while they never really landed a big hit, or made their way across the pond with much fanfare, their offspring most certainly did.

In six tumultuous years, Orange Juice, led by Edwyn Collins, blazed a trail of self-reliance with the legendary Postcard label, ran in conjunction with then-manager Alan Horne, and greatly expanded the palette of independent music at the start of the ‘80s with their brand of literate pop songwriting that both pre-saged the coming of The Smiths and kickstarted a renaissance in Scottish pop music that continues to this day. 

After an embryonic start as the punk-influenced Nu-Sonics, Orange Juice came into being in 1979 as unfashionable pre-Year Zero punk influences such as The Byrds, Chic, Motown and The Velvet Underground began to make their presence known in the band’s developing sound. Over the next year, the group recorded four landmark 7” singles on Postcard (as well as putting out early releases from Aztec Camera, The Go-Betweens and Josef K). Though each single proved more successful than its predecessor, greater commercial aspirations led the band to sign to Polydor in the midst of making their first album in a prescient deal in which the band retained ownership of their material. 

The original lineup abruptly fell apart shortly after the release of the debut album, You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever, and, as quickly, the band’s future was decidedly unassured. However, with the addition of Malcolm Ross, formerly of Postcard labelmates Josef K, and Zimbabwe-by-way-of-Glasgow drummer Zeke Manyika, the group proceeded to make their commercial mark with the timeless funk and soul-inflected Rip It Up, whose title track was to be the group’s biggest UK hit, peaking at #8 in February of 1983. 

During the recording of a follow-up, the group had decided to head in a more rock direction, but creative tensions arose again and the group fell apart during the recording sessions from which the Texas Fever mini-LP was culled. With Polydor’s support of the group withdrawing, Collins, joined in the studio by Manyika, persevered to make the bittersweet swan song album, The Orange Juice, a collection that telegraphed the group’s impending demise amidst some of their finest recordings. Collins made it official in March of 1985 announcing mid-performance at a miner’s benefit at the Brixton Academy that it would be Orange Juice’s last performance.

Orange Juice You Can’t Hide Your Love Forever Track Listing:

1.  Falling And Laughing
2.  Untitled Melody
3.  Wan Light
4.  Tender Object
5.  Dying Day
6.  L.O.V.E. Love
7.  Intuition Told Me, Pt. 1
8.  Upwards And Onwards
9.  Satellite City
10. Three Cheers For Our Side
11. Consolation Prize
12. Felicity
13. In A Nutshell

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Falling And Laughing
2. Untitled Melody
3. Wan Light
4. Tender Object
5. Dying Day
6. L.O.V.E. Love
7. Intuition Told Me, Pt. 1
8. Upwards And Onwards
9. Satellite City
10. Three Cheers For Our Side
11. Consolation Prize
12. Felicity
13. In A Nutshell

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.