FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Other Lives - Rituals (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Other Lives - Rituals

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDO26817

Other Lives Rituals on 2LP

“In our heads we’re haphazardly trying to write classical music,” says Jesse Tabish, and if you listen with an intent ear to Other Lives’ lush, layered beatific musical creations, it’s hard not to imagine the singer-musical maestro crafting his next opus. “Every sound, every drum beat has to have some sort of purpose,” he adds. 

13 years since they first began playing together in their native Oklahoma, Other Lives, which includes Josh Onstott and Jonathon Mooney, remain focused on the search for audible clarity: their next expression, their next melody, their next rhythm. Rituals, the band’s third and latest full-length album, is a pure encapsulation of the trio’s relentless drive for precision. “It’s more dimensional, it’s more 3-D, if you will,” Tabish explains. “We wanted a cleaner, brighter record with more movement and more color.”

It’s also an extremely personal endeavor: having lived in the heart of the Dust Bowl for their entire lives, the trio of musicians ventured Westward in recent years, settling down in Portland, OR, to record their latest work. “There was a spirit of change,” Tabish offers. “We had done [2011’s second LP] Tamer Animals, which was very close to us and about our home. So the next record was about the spontaneity of travel and being isolated. For the first times in our lives we were moving off on our own away from our families and kind of coming into our own. I wanted the songs to reflect that new spirit.”

To engage with Rituals is to barrel along a winding, hidden dirt path; peering into its bounty is to be swept away into the pines and deep, briny brush revealing a new, almost utopian existence. The classical strings of opener “Fair Weather” swells into the pitter-patter electro snippets of “Pattern,” Tabish’s reedy voice hovering ever so slightly above the mix. 

Ambient soundscapes (“New Fog”) buttress against prog-rock stomp (“2 Pyramids”) lending the album the experience of embarking on a choose-your-own-adventure novel. “There’s kind of a duality to this record,” Tabish says, referencing “Pattern” - “rhythmically kind of up-tempo, really fast-moving, marimbas, this new kind of new-wave orchestra sound” - in opposition to the closing title track, a slow-building, piano-and-strings-anchored ballad Tabish wrote in the finals weeks of recording.

Other Lives Rituals Track Listing:

1.  Fair Weather
2.  Pattern
3.  Reconfiguration
4.  Easy Way Out
5.  Beat Primal
6.  New Fog
7.  2 Pyramids

1.  Need A Line
2.  English Summer
3.  Untitled
4.  No Trouble
5.  For The Last
6.  It’s Not Magic
7.  Ritual


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Fair Weather
2. Pattern
3. Reconfiguration
4. Easy Way Out
5. Beat Primal
6. New Fog
7. 2 Pyramids

1. Need A Line
2. English Summer
3. Untitled
4. No Trouble
5. For The Last
6. It’s Not Magic
7. Ritual

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.