FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Paul Rodgers - The Royal Sessions (200G Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Paul Rodgers - The Royal Sessions

(200G Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDR7216

Paul Rogers The Royal Sessions on 200g LP + Download

Founding Bad Company Frontman and Iconic Singer/Songwriter Records Versions Of Classic Songs At Memphis' Royal Studios with Original Session Musicians

Vocals Recorded All Analog and Mixed to Analog Tape; Record Cut from Analog Tape and 200g LP Pressed at QRP

Paul Rodgers, longtime singer and songwriter of Bad Company, reaches a new pinnacle on The Royal Sessions, a lovingly crafted collection of classic R&B and soul songs re-imagined by the iconic rock singer. The music is recorded live to analog at Memphis' Royal Studios, historic home of Willie Mitchell and Hi Records, with many of the musicians who played on the original tracks. Pressed on 200g vinyl at QRP, this version is nothing short of an audiophile spectacular.

Musically, Rodgers comes full circle on The Royal Sessions, paying homage to the legendary hits he collected on 45s released on Stax/Volt, Goldwax and Hi Records. We are talking recordings by Otis Redding, Albert King, and Ann Peebles which made an indelible impression on the young Rodgers and inspired him to pursue a career as a singer. 

"Sonically, what do you think results from live in the hallowed studio basic tracks and vocals recorded all analog, mixed to analog tape and cut from analog tape? It’s spectacular! A musical triumph and a sonic "in the studio" spectacular."
—Michael Fremer, Analog Planet, February 2014

Produced by Perry Margouleff, The Royal Sessions is an extraordinary recording that captures the music in its pure form: live band and vocal takes as performed together at Royal Studios by Rodgers and an all-star roster of legendary musicians. The band is comprised of a dream lineup of instrumentalists that played on the original hits, with the classic rhythm section including Reverend Charles Hodges (Hammond B3), Michael Tolls (guitar), LeRoy Hodges Jr. (bass), "Hubby" Archie Turner (Wurlitzer), Steve Potts and James Robertson Sr. (drums), the Royal Horns, and the Royal Singers.  

The Royal Sessions  came together as Rodgers was working on a solo record and producer Margouleff had just discovered that Royal Studios was still up and running under the auspices of Willie "Pops" Mitchell's son, Lawrence "Boo" Mitchell. The opportunity to record in such a hallowed place with musicians he considered personal heroes was almost too good to believe. The Memphis players forged an immediate bond when presented with his formidable talent and sincere love of the songs. Deeply felt, powerfully sung, and expertly played, the record features a cross-section of material hand-picked by Rodgers.   

Says Rodgers: "I really felt I had to get deeper inside myself than I ever had in my life. The end result is that recording these songs left me recharged as a singer and also as a songwriter. My favorite part was the love we could feel in the room throughout all the sessions. We all spoke the same language."

Says Margouleff: "I wanted to make the most of this incredible opportunity so I recorded Paul and the band live in the studio.  We captured the pure energy of their performance. Recording in an all analogue format the sonic quality is unparalleled and the listener can experience the music on a deeper level."

Paul Rogers The Royal Sessions Track Listing:

1.  Thank You
2.  Down Don't Bother Me
3.  I Can't Stand The Rain
4.  I've Been Loving You Too Long
5.  That's How Strong My Love Is
6.  Walk On By
7.  Any Old Way
8.  Its' Growing
9.  Born Under A Bad Sign
10. Dreams To Remember
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Thank You
2. Down Don't Bother Me
3. I Can't Stand The Rain
4. I've Been Loving You Too Long
5. That's How Strong My Love Is
6. Walk On By
7. Any Old Way
8. Its' Growing
9. Born Under A Bad Sign
10. Dreams To Remember

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.