FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Pink Mountaintops - Axis Of Evol (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Pink Mountaintops - Axis Of Evol

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDP08312

Pink Mountaintops Axis Of Evol on LP

Project from Black Mountain's Stephen McBean 

Pink Mountaintops is Stephen McBean (and also many of his friends when the full band is assembled to play live). McBean has been in numerous groups over the last two decades. As a thirteen-year old, he played in a band called Jerk Ward, playing hardcore influenced by the Neos, Discharge, Crucifix and whoever else was fast or the fastest. His other bands to date have been a straight out punk outfit, a crusty punk/metal band, and, most recently, a psych-tinged maximal rock group whose self-titled debut record, Black Mountain, captured a great amount of critical acclaim (and meteorically became Jagjaguwar's best-selling title.) 

With Axis of Evol (2006), Pink Mountaintops' second full-length record, McBean once again created something much greater than the sum of his influences. Axis of Evol begins with a forboding spiritual called "Comas," the kind that McBean and only a very few other songwriters of this generation could pull off. It includes the tone-setting lyrical phrase "I have been wrestling a dead angry deer, and she is still with me after all of these years." The record then almost immediately ramps up into a thumping, buzzing, blissful haze, at various parts sounding like the Velvet Underground or Spacemen 3 or the Jesus and Mary Chain circa Psycho Candy. And at the end, the album then segues into a hypnotic, Smog-like meditation called "How We Can Get Free."

Throughout the record, McBean sings about love and war, the love of war, and the war of love - on the body, on the mind and on the soul. Home-recorded and largely self-produced, Axis of Evol is a further testament to the vital prolificacy of Stephen McBean. His mind, body and soul have once again created something that can't be simply measured, coded or decoded. Experience it, then think about it in more than one way.

Pink Mountaintops Axis Of Evol Track Listing:

1.  Comas
2.  Cold Criminals
3.  New Drug Queens
4.  Slaves
5.  Plastic Man, You're The Devil
6.  Lord, Let Us Shine
7.  How We Can Get Free

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Comas
2. Cold Criminals
3. New Drug Queens
4. Slaves
5. Plastic Man, You're The Devil
6. Lord, Let Us Shine
7. How We Can Get Free

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.