FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Pissed Jeans - Honeys (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Pissed Jeans Honeys

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDP2918
Pissed Jeans Honeys on LP + MP3 Coupon

Age and four full-lengths haven’t mellowed Pissed Jeans; they can still unleash a blare that will exfoliate your cochlea. Formed in Allentown, Pennsylvania, Pissed Jeans released Shallow, their first album, in 2005 on Parts Unknown Records. The band relocated to Philadelphia seven years ago, and Sub Pop released Hope for Men in 2007, and then King of Jeans in 2009. The latter was recorded by Grammy nominee Alex Newport, who also recorded Honeys.

Age and experience, have, however, refined Pissed Jeans. Their ideas and execution have become more subtly focused. The songs on Honeys are direct without being obtuse, evocative without being vague, personal without being indulgent. They also rock like nobody's business. Forget all the claptrap you've heard about other bands delivering the goods. If you want bloodthirsty, you’ve got it… At times Honeys is the sound of being bashed over the head with a snow shovel. At times the band slows down and sounds like waking from nightmare you can't quite remember. The songs are catchy, but in a way that would appeal to mental patients who only understand colors.

Honeys stews on the kind of mundane, niggling things that keep you up late at night. “Bathroom Laughter” kicks off the record with ominous bass that sputters into Pissed Jean's most stomping track yet. The song is a narrative about being on the periphery of a nasty scene; it's an oblique reminder of the glimpses we get into other people's indiscretions. “Loubs” struts and swings under an unrequited rhapsody to a woman in high heels. In the hands of most bands this would be a moronic blurt, but the Jeans turn it into an uncomfortable monologue of longing. 

“Health Plan” is more direct: a song about the fear of going to the doctor, delivered at Black Flag velocity. Honeys is an ode to the misery and shackles of being a responsible adult, and the shame of one's own narcissism. Pissed Jeans trucks in menacing songs about insecurity, and nobody has ever done it better. Single LP with insert and custom dust sleeve plus MP3 coupon.

Pissed Jeans Honeys Track Listing:

1.  Bathroom Laughter
2.  Chain Worker
3.  Romanticize Me
4.  Vain in Costume
5.  You’re Different (In Person)
6.  Cafeteria Food
7.  Something About Mrs. Johnson
8.  Male Gaze
9.  Cat House
10. Loubs
11. Health Plan
12. Teenage Adult
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Bathroom Laughter
2. Chain Worker
3. Romanticize Me
4. Vain in Costume
5. You’re Different (In Person)
6. Cafeteria Food
7. Something About Mrs. Johnson
8. Male Gaze
9. Cat House
10. Loubs
11. Health Plan
12. Teenage Adult

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.