FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Portishead - Dummy (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Portishead - Dummy

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LDP72050

Portishead Dummy on 180g LP

Trip-hop triumvirate Portishead was formed in Bristol, UK in 1991, by Geoff Barrow, Beth Gibbons and Adrian Utley. After releasing a short film (To Kill a Dead Man) and its accompanying music, the band signed a record deal with Go! Beat Records. 

Portishead's brilliant debut, Dummy, was then issued in 1994 and in spite of the band's aversion to press coverage, the album was successful in both Europe and the United States (where it sold more than 150,000 copies before the band even toured there). Dummy spawned the two hit singles, "Glory Box" and "Sour Times," and went on to win the prestigious Mercury Music Prize in 1995.

To mark the 20th anniversary of Dummy's original release, Portishead will be re-issuing their landmark debut album on vinyl. One of the most enduring and best loved records of the last 20 years, Dummy will be pressed on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl and presented in a gatefold sleeve. 

"Portishead uses some of the same building blocks as fellow Bristol, England trip-hoppers Massive Attack – woozy break beats, jazzy samples, live guitar, girl-singer/guy-programmer dynamic - but Beth Gibbons' brooding, pop-cabaret vocals showed to the world that you could feel real pain over a trip-hop groove." - Rolling Stone/#419 of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time

Portishead Dummy Track Listing:

1.  Mysterons
2.  Sour Times
3.  Strangers
4.  It Could Be Sweet
5.  Wandering Star
6.  Numb
7.  Roads
8.  Pedestal
9.  Biscuit
10. Glory Box

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Mysterons
2. Sour Times
3. Strangers
4. It Could Be Sweet
5. Wandering Star
6. Numb
7. Roads
8. Pedestal
9. Biscuit
10. Glory Box

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.