FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Protomartyr - Under Color Of Official Right (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Protomartyr - Under Color Of Official Right

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDP08112

Protomartyr Under Color Of Official Right on LP + Download Code

In a city full of brilliant people with dead-end jobs and dampened by bitter-cold winters, playing music offers a cheap outlet. Protomartyr’s taut, austere rock was incubated in a freezing Detroit warehouse littered with beer cans and cigarette butts and warmed, feebly, by space heaters. Short songs made for short practices, and the band learned quickly not to waste time. Despite the cold, the group emerged with a sound that is idiosyncratic but relatable, hooky but off-kilter.

Protomartyr’s economical rock elicits comparisons to possible antecedents like Pere Ubu or The Fall as well as local contemporaries like Frustrations or Tyvek (whose frontman Kevin Boyer played bass in an early iteration of the band). Singer Joe Casey’s dry declarative snarl serves as a reliable anchor, granting his bandmates - guitarist Greg Ahee, drummer Alex Leonard and bassist Scott Davidson - the opportunity to explore textures and reinforce the rhythm section. 

This is never more apparent than on the band’s sophomore LP and Hardly Art debut, Under Color of Official Right. Where 2012’s No Passion All Technique favored comparatively straightforward punk structures, Under Color Of Official Right takes a more exploratory approach. “Tarpeian Rock” places punk vitriol against a minimalist backing and “Scum, Rise!” casts shadows with guitars that alternately chime and clang.

The cheap outlet, crafted by cold hands in a poorly insulated practice space has, perhaps unwittingly, become a model of Motor City efficiency. And, more than that, it’s produced a stunner of a sophomore album.

Protomartyr Under Color Of Official Right Track Listing:

1.  Maidenhead 
2.  Ain’t So Simple 
3.  Want Remover 
4.  Trust Me Billy 
5.  Pagans 
6.  What the Wall Said 
7.  Tarpeian Rock 
8.  Bad Advice
9.  Son of Dis 
10. Scum, Rise! 
11. I Stare at Floors 
12. Come & See 
13. Violent 
14. I’ll Take That Applause
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Maidenhead
2. Ain’t So Simple
3. Want Remover
4. Trust Me Billy
5. Pagans
6. What the Wall Said
7. Tarpeian Rock
8. Bad Advice
9. Son of Dis
10. Scum, Rise!
11. I Stare at Floors
12. Come & See
13. Violent
14. I’ll Take That Applause

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2018. All Rights Reserved.