FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Quilt - Held In Splendor (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Quilt - Held In Splendor

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDQ4911

Quilt Held In Splendor on LP + Download Code

When the three members of Quilt arrived in New York City in April 2013 to begin the intensive recording process for their second album, the new and aptly named Held In Splendor, they stepped directly into spring. Anna Fox Rochinski, Shane Butler and John Andrews had spent much of the previous several months clutched away at The Puritan Garage in Boston's Charlestown, shielding themselves from a winter of blizzards with the haven of their practice space and a set of fresh songs. 

Since the release of their 2011 self-titled debut on Mexican Summer, they’d become more than kids just out of college. They’d become a bona fide hard-touring band, with stories to share from the road and experiences to distill into the narrative of new music. Though they continued to write and arrange tunes together, always an essential part of Quilt’s creative process, they brought songs to one another, too, making and modifying demo tapes for the first time. No longer rookies, Quilt began to approach their music like a lifeline. Coming to New York, then, just as the magnolia trees bloomed and the season of new life began to blossom, Quilt got to work. 

Indeed, when Butler talks about recording the kaleidoscopic Held In Splendor, he seems to speak of an ornate children’s playground. Whereas their first album was made mostly for free and mostly by friends over the course of a year of starts and stops, in sessions that captured the early and elemental and exciting efforts of a band finding its footing, Quilt entered the proper in-house studio located beneath the Mexican Summer offices in Brooklyn for this one. 

They’d allocated a solid month for recording, and they clocked full days, every day, with Woods member and producer Jarvis Taveniere. The approach was wide-open: they tuned drums and recorded the same song with multiple microphone set-ups. They added bass and invited friends who added saxophone and violin, cello and steel guitar. They built this album together. 

Held In Splendor is an audacious pop-rock record with cascading harmonies and billowing textures, punchy rhythms and snarled guitars, wonderful depth and resplendent peaks. “Mary Mountain” takes hazy Summer of Love memories on a mid-summer road trip in a gleaming muscle car. “Tired & Buttered” invites Booker T over for an energy-addled jam in the garage. “The Hollow” twinkles like Fleetwood Mac and Galaxie 500, with sweet singing backed by the lap steel sighs of young acoustic guitar star and longtime Quilt pal Daniel Bachman. 

Held In Splendor is an album of personal poetry and public questions, confessions and aspirations - really, these 13 tracks are their own playground, brimming with the sort of unapologetic energy and wonder that turns simple songs into absolute anthems. 

"Like a dusted-off artifact from a trippier time...borrowing from junkyard blues and ’60s psychedelia while still sounding like its own thing." - The Fader

"As warm and relaxing as falling asleep in the sun.” - Stereogum

Quilt Held In Splendor Track Listing:

1.  Arctic Shark 
2.  Saturday Bride 
3.  Eye of the Pearl 
4.  Mary Mountain 
5.  Tie Up the Tides 
6.  The Hollow 
7.  A Mirror
8.  Just Dust 
9.  The World Is Flat 
10. Tired & Buttered 
11. Secondary Swans 
12. Talking Trains 
13. I Sleep in Nature
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Arctic Shark
2. Saturday Bride
3. Eye of the Pearl
4. Mary Mountain
5. Tie Up the Tides
6. The Hollow
7. A Mirror
8. Just Dust
9. The World Is Flat
10. Tired & Buttered
11. Secondary Swans
12. Talking Trains
13. I Sleep in Nature

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.