FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Red Garland Trio - Swingin' on the Korner: Live at Keyston Korner (Vinyl 3LP)
Click to Enlarge

Red Garland Trio - Swingin' on the Korner: Live at Keyston Korner

(Vinyl 3LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDG00262

Red Garland Trio Swingin' On The Korner: Live At Keystone Korner on Numbered 180g 3LP + 44-Page Booklet

150 minutes of Never-Before Released Material from the Legendary Trio

Includes Accompanying 44-Page Booklet with Essays from Jazz Experts & Never Before Seen Photographs


Despite high praise from music authorities far and wide and his integral role in the first great Miles Davis Quintet, Red Garland’s name is too rarely mentioned in the pantheon of jazz greats. With the release of Swingin’ on the Korner, Elemental Music helps to remedy those oversights with the release of over 150 minutes of previously unheard live Red Garland performances on a 3LP-set, recorded in 1977 at San Francisco’s landmark Keystone Korner jazz club with a once-in-a-lifetime trio. None of this material has ever been released – officially or otherwise.

This swinging treasure trove arrives with a 44 page booklet including essays by experts like Nat Hentoff, Ira Gitler, Don Schlitten, Doug Ramsey, Benny Green, Kenny Washington, with an introduction by producers Zev Feldman and Todd Barkan, as well as photographs taken during the actual concerts by Keystone staff photographer Tom Copi. Images, information and music combine to transport listeners back to a magical week in one of jazz’s most beloved rooms. Additionally, the booklet includes an article on Red Garland from Doug Ramsey “Seeing Red,” printed with permission from Texas Monthly that ran back in 1979. 

As producer Zev Feldman says, “this may be one of the most important projects I’ve ever worked on and I’ve had the pleasure to co-produce this with Todd Barkan. I was determined from the start to build the most exhaustive package ever created for Garland that truly celebrates his memory. There’s never been a book on Red, and this is the closest there is. We built this and I couldn’t be more proud. He deserves it”. Fans will learn about Red via music but also by critical voices who have something to say about this master who has sadly been gone now for over 31 years.” (he passed away in 1983).

Our time machine arrives in December, 1977, as Garland is reunited with his bandmate from the Miles Davis Quintet, legendary drummer Philly Joe Jones. For the first and only time, Garland and Jones were joined for the occasion by bassist Leroy Vinnegar, best known for his recordings with Stan Getz, Chet Baker, and Lee Konitz, among others. The trio was the brainchild of Keystone Korner owner Todd Barkan, who aimed (successfully, as these recordings attest) to turn the engagement into a special, exclusive occasion.

The result is a uniformly high-caliber selection, though highlights abound, including the album’s opener, a rousing, 13-minute rendition of “Love for Sale” that begins with an epic solo introduction by Garland, playfully incorporating a touch of Beethoven’s “Für Elise” before leaping into the brisk, swinging tune. “Love for Sale” delivers both power and sensitivity. The set also includes a sprinting version of “Billy Boy” (familiar from Davis’ Milestones) that shows off Vinnegar’s muscular walking lines; a prime example of Garland’s tender ballad playing on “Never Let Me Go;” and a nod to the season with a poignant take on Mel Tormé’s classic “The Christmas Song.” Of course it wouldn’t be a Red Garland without blues and ballads which fans will be happy to know are included in ample form.

On the project’s origins, Feldman recalls, “In 2013 when Elemental’s owner Jordi Soley and I were starting the label, we were determined to find important previously unissued recordings. These tapes came from Todd’s archives and upon even seeing these tapes existed, we immediately knew how rare they were and that they needed to be issued. I’m very grateful to Jordi for his support in this project. I presented my plan to build the greatest release ever for Red and I was given free reign to do what I felt was best. The results are a one-of-a-kind reference guide in addition to wonderful recordings. I am grateful to Mr. Soley.”

Feldman continues: “This is an important recording; a discovery coming to light from a period where Red really wasn’t recording that much. I hope it kicks the door open for people to go back and revisit his music, to stop and evaluate who this man was: a great musician and great artist.”

Red Garland (piano)
Leroy Vinnegar (bass)
Philly Joe Jones (drums)

• Numbered 180g 3LP-set, deluxe tri-fold package with insert
• One of the greatest packages ever built for Red Garland: 150 minutes of never-before released material from the legendary pianist
• Recorded December 6-10, 1977 at San Francisco’s legendary Keystone Korner
• Featuring bassist Leroy Vinnegar and drummer Philly Joe Jones
• 44-page booklet with liner notes by Nat Hentoff, Ira Gitler, Don Schlitten, Doug Ramsey, Benny Green, Kenny Washington, and producers Zev Feldman and Todd Barkan
• Never-before seen photographs by staff photographer, Tom Copi

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
Red Garland Trio Swingin' On The Korner - Live At Keystone Korner Track Listing:

1.  Love For Sale
2.  I Wish I Knew
3.  It's Impossible
4.  Billy Boy
5.  Dear Old Stockholm
6.  If I'm Lucky

1.  Blues In Bebop
2.  On Green Dolphin Street
3.  Straight No Chaser
4.  On A Clear Day
5.  The Christmas Song
6.  The Best Things In Life Are Free

1.  Never Let Me Go
2.  Autumn Leaves
3.  Bag's Groove
4.  It's All Right With Me/The Theme

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.