FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Red Red Meat - Jimmywine Majestic (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Red Red Meat - Jimmywine Majestic

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDR16848

1993 Second Effort from Tim Rutili's Pre-Califone Project on Double Vinyl with 4 Bonus Tracks!

In Chicago in the early ‘90s, combustable rock outfit Friends of Betty, led by songwriter Tim Rutili, collapsed and reconfigured itself as Red Red Meat. In 1992, the band released its self-titled debut on its own Perishable Records imprint. Over the course of its career, Red Red Meat would twist and expand its sound on a series of records for Sub Pop, eventually morphing into experimental outfit Califone.

In 1993 Red Red Meat released its first record for legendary Seattle label Sub Pop, Jimmywine Majestic. Building on the grungy roots of the band's self-titled debut, the second album was more confident and refined, with songwriter Rutili's impressionistic lyrics hovering over twangy steel guitars, thick fuzzbox riffs, and barroom drums. Produced by Brad Wood (Liz Phair, That Dog, Sunny Day Real Estate), the record finds the band (Rutili, Brian Deck, Glenn Girard, and Tim Hurley) moving away from the thrashing noise of the first record into more nuanced territory, maintaining its menacing swagger but injecting more space into songs like "Moon Calf Tripe" and "Lather," swinging harder on opener "Flank" and the anthemic "Ball," and pushing into blues and reconfigured roots rock with "Dowser" and "Comes." 

Much of the album's classic feel was informed by bands like the Rolling Stones and the Faces, a "favorite kind of music for Tim Rutilli," says drummer and organist Deck. "It was his writing that pulled things in that direction, and it was probably his writing and ambition to be different from that that ultimately drove [the band] toward being esoteric and experimental."

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Flank
  2. Stained & Lit
  3. Braindead
  4. Smokey Mtn Dbl Dip
  5. Cillamange
  6. Ball
  7. Lather
  8. Rusted Water
  1. Gorshin
  2. Dowser
  3. Comes
  4. Roses
  5. Make You Gone
  6. Pity
  7. Lather (Acme Sessions)
  8. Intro (Single Version)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.