FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Reed Mathis - Beathoven (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Reed Mathis - Beathoven

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDM22415

Reed Mathis' new album Beathoven presents Beethoven's Symphony No. 3 and Symphony No. 6, in their entirety, with an "orchestra" that features members of Phish, Pearl Jam, Galactic, Greyboy Allstars, the Barr Brothers, along with Joe Russo, Marco Benevento, and more.

After cutting his teeth in Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey and Tea Leaf Green, bassist extraordinaire Reed Mathis established himself in the Grateful Dead world with membership in Billy & The Kids, The Rhythm Devils, Mickey Hart Band, Steve Kimock Band and the Golden Gate Wingmen. But Mathis' first love was always Ludwig van Beethoven. With his new Electric Beethoven project, Mathis did the unthinkable and fused all of his worlds together, bringing old world masterpieces by Beethoven to today's premiere musical improvisers – an elite class of live performers who have individually made names for themselves in every genre except classical: jazz, funk, folk, blues, and jam rock.

Enlisting a total of 14 musicians, Mathis traveled to their various hometowns, recording each "movement" as a trio, with his unusual approach to the bass filling the same sonic space as virtually an entire traditional string section. The result goes far beyond genre and brings this music back to the emotional realm that Beethoven was composing from when he initially brought these two symphonies to life. It's music of the moment, even if that moment has been happening for more than 200 years.

The "Beathoven Orchestra," as they appear on the album, features Reed Mathis in trio formations with: Joe Russo and Luke Bulla, Andrew Barr and Steve Pryor, Stanton Moore and Jared Tyler, Matt Chamberlain and Mike Dillon, Page McConnell and Jason Smart, Mike Gordon and Joe Russo, Marco Benevento and Matt Chamberlain, Brad Barr and Andrew Barr, Stanton Moore and Robert Walter.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Awakening of Happiness (feat. Joe Russo & Luke Bolla)
  2. Scene by the River (feat. Andrew Barr & Steve Pryor)
  3. Rain Dance (feat. Stanton Moore & Jared Tyler)
  4. Thunderstorm (feat. Matt Chamberlain & Mike Dillon)
  5. Shepherd's Song (feat. Page McConnell & Jason Smart)
  6. In Memory of a Great Man (feat. Mike Gordon & Joe Russo)
  7. Funeral March (feat. Marco Benevento & Matt Chamberlain)
  8. Rebirth (feat. Brad Barr & Andrew Barr)
  9. Finale (feat. Stanton Moore & Robert Walter)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.