FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Rey Pila - The Future Sugar (Colored Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Rey Pila The Future Sugar

(Colored Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDR27701

Rey Pila The Future Sugar on Colored LP

First Pressing on Colored Vinyl

Colored Copies Are Limited / Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

Rey Pila was born in Mexico City in 2009 as a solo project by Diego Solorzano. His self-titled, debut full-length, co-produced by Solorzano and Paul Majahan (TV on the Radio/Liars/Yeah Yeah Yeahs) garnered tremendous praise in Mexico and attention abroad from outlets such as NYLON and SPIN, and was supported by shows with the likes of TV on the Radio, Muse and Ariel Pink.

Rey Pila’s current lineup of Solorzano with Rodrigo Blanco, Andres Velasco and Miguel Hernandez moved to New York City in late 2012 and enlisted producer Chris Coady (Beach House/Wavves/Smith Westerns) to begin work on their sophomore album. Some months later, the album unexpectedly caught the attention of Julian Casablancas, blasting from the speakers of an office he was visiting. He ended up signing Rey Pila to his label, Cult Records, releasing the single “Alexander” in late 2013.

Rey Pila toured across the western half of North America last fall, supporting Interpol, appearing twice on “Last Call with Carson Daly”, and performing at Austin City Limits Festival, where the Austin American Statesman asked, “Is Rey Pila the coolest band performing at Austin City Limits?” and led Consequence of Sound to say, “[Rey Pila] might be [Cult Records] true secret weapon, a goldmine of hits waiting to be obsessed upon.”

Rey Pila re-entered the studio with Casablancas this spring to complete The Future Sugar, with a completely new mix of the full album by Shawn Everett (Weezer/Lucius), before joining The Rentals on a month-long tour across North America. The Future Sugar will arrive in July 2015 on Cult Records.

“Mixing the sounds of Roxy Music, Simple Minds, and maybe a touch of the Strokes, Rey Pila make great new wave music for a new generation of fans.” - KEXP

Rey Pila The Future Sugar Track Listing:

1.  Fire Away
2.  White Night
3.  Surveillance Camera
4.  Alexander
5.  False Self System
6.  The Future Sugar
7.  Nerds
8.  Order Police
9.  What a Nice Surprise


Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.