FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Robert Belfour - Pushin My Luck (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Robert Belfour - Pushin My Luck

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDB3691
Robert Belfour Pushin My Luck on LP

"Robert Belfour's sophomore effort for Fat Possum - at 63, he is one of the youngest artists on the roster and is by far the most "polished," if the Delta blues can ever really be called that - proves his debut was indeed only a beginning. In stark contrast to his labelmates, Belfour strictly plays acoustic blues, but he plays them with the same dark, trancelike feel of Junior Kimbrough, haunting spookiness of Fred McDowell, rhythmic intensity of John Lee Hooker, and sprawling drawl of Lightnin' Hopkins. Ted Gainey aids Belfour on a drum kit. 

"While the first album was all of a piece, and everything but the vocal seemed to be recorded at the same level (and even then, Belfour couldn't always be understood among the ringing guitars and shuffling drums), Pushin' My Luck is nervier, a bit more edgy. Belfour's truly nearly unbelievable singing is a bit more in the foreground, enough to add to the hypnotic repetition in his music, while the drums - played no more elaborately than Meg White's in the White Stripes - are mixed just a tad higher, bringing it extremely close to the punch this stuff has when played in front of a live audience. 

"Fans of Kimbrough's guitar playing - or Ali Farka Toure's, for that matter - will be instantly drawn to the polyrhythmic, droning chords and ambling, elegantly raw, slippery fills that Belfour plays, whether it's on "Hill Stomp," the title track, "I Got My Eyes on You," "Sweet Brown Sugar," or "I'm Gonna Leave," which closes the set. The vibe is the same everywhere; this is deep, hot Mississippi blues full of a slow, steamy, writhing sexual vibe; twisted soul; and a sense of foreboding mystery that cannot be mentioned, let alone explained. 

"This is the first great blues record of 2003 and if it isn't nominated for the W.C. Handy Award, the damned foundation should be disbanded on the basis of deafness. I hope this guy lives to be a 100 and makes a record every year he's on this planet. Forget everything you just read: This record is amazing; just buy it." - Fat Possum / Thom Jurek, All Music

Robert Belfour Pushin My Luck Track Listing:

1.  Hill Stomp
2.  Breaking My Heart
3.  Pushin' My Luck
4.  Go Ahead On
5.  You Got Me Crying
6.  I Got My Eyes On You
7.  Sweet Brown Sugar
8.  Stayed Awake
9.  Crazy Ways
10. I'm Gonna Leave
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Hill Stomp
2. Breaking My Heart
3. Pushin' My Luck
4. Go Ahead On
5. You Got Me Crying
6. I Got My Eyes On You
7. Sweet Brown Sugar
8. Stayed Awake
9. Crazy Ways
10. I'm Gonna Leave

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.