FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Roxy Music - The Complete Studio Albums (Limited Edition Vinyl 8LP Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

Roxy Music The Complete Studio Albums

(Limited Edition Vinyl 8LP Box Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDR48737

Roxy Music The Complete Studio Albums on Limited Edition 8LP Box Set

Includes Each of Roxy Music's 8 Classic Studio Albums Released from 1972-1982 

Half-Speed Mastering at Abbey Road Studios by Engineer Miles Schowell

Roxy Music, the art rock band synonymous with both style and substance, is issuing The Complete Studio Albums, a box set of their eight acclaimed studio albums on vinyl for the first time since their original releases. The eight vinyl albums, the first ever to be mastered in half-speed mastering (by respected engineer Miles Schowell), come packaged in a glamorous box set, befitting of a band that intoxicated with its cool cocktail of fashion, romance, nostalgia and futurism.

The Complete Studio Albums presents Roxy Music’s studio albums as they were originally meant to be seen and heard. The band’s album covers are legendary and became an integral part of what Roxy Music represented: cinematic imagery set to startling, otherworldly music. This elegant vinyl box set allows a new generation of music fans to discover why Roxy Music, with Bryan Ferry, Brian Eno for the first two albums, Andy Mackay, Phil Manzanera and Paul Thompson, is considered one of the most influential British bands: adventurous, bewildering, stylish, sexy and beguiling. For all their imitators and admirers, no one has ever successfully cloned the unique and indefinable fusion of elements that made Roxy Music.

The Complete Studio Albums includes each of the eight Roxy Music studio albums released from 1972-1982 including Roxy Music (1972), For Your Pleasure (1973), Stranded (1973), Country Life (1974), Siren (1975), Manifesto (1979), Flesh And Blood (1980), and Avalon (1982) - all international top ten chart hits. The songs were often vignettes, paeans to a world whose surface glitter hid heartache and lost: "Virginia Plain," "Do The Strand," "Pyjamarama," "Street Life," "Love is The Drug," "Mother of Pearl," "In Every Dream Home a Heartache," "Both Ends Burning" and "More Than This."

Roxy Music’s self-titled debut was originally released in 1972 to critical acclaim and exemplified the band’s penchant for glamour, both in the lyrics and with the album cover of model Kari-Ann Muller, kickstarting a tradition of iconic album covers featuring female models. It's follow-up, For Your Pleasure, which was released in early-1973 includes the classic Roxy tracks "Do The Strand," "In Every Dream A Heartache" and "Editions Of You," and was the last album to feature Brian Eno in the recording line-up. 

Late-1973 saw the release of Stranded, which reached No. 1 on the UK Album Chart, producing the Top Ten single "Street Life," and featuring 1973 Playmate of the Year (and Bryan Ferry’s then girlfriend) Marilyn Cole on the cover. A year later, Roxy Music released 1974's Country Life, this time featuring two models on the album cover (Constanze Karoli and Eveline Grunwald) and producing the single "All I Want Is You."

Siren, released in 1975 and featuring Jerry Hall as the cover girl, includes arguably Roxy Music’s best-known song "Love Is The Drug," which charted at No. 2 upon release, and a second single "Both Ends Burning." A four year gap preceded the release of Manifesto in 1979, which reached No. 7 in the UK charts and featured an eye catching album cover of mannequins conceptualized by Ferry and long time designer and Roxy Music collaborator Antony Price. Manifesto produced three singles including the No. 2 hit "Dance Away" and "Angel Eyes."

The No. 1 album Flesh And Blood was released in 1980, Roxy Music at this point was Ferry, Mackay and Manzanera due to the departure of drummer Thompson. The most commercially successful Roxy Music album, Avalon, was released in 1982, charting at No. 1, and staying on the UK album charts for over a year, with three single releases including the Top 5 song "More Than This."
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
Roxy Music The Complete Studio Albums Box Set Contents:

LP1 - Roxy Music (1972)
1.   Re-make/Re-model
2.   Ladytron
3.   If There Is Something
4.   2HB
5.   The Bob (Medley)
6.   Chance Meeting
7.   Would You Believe?
8.   Sea Breezes 
9.   Bitters End

LP2 - For Your Pleasure (1973)
1.   Do The Strand
2.   Beauty Queen
3.   Strictly Confidential
4.   Editions Of You
5.   In Every Dream Home A Heartache
6.   The Bogus Man
7.   Grey Lagoons
8.   For Your Pleasure

LP3 - Stranded (1973)
1.  Street Life
2.  Just Like You
3.  Amazona
4.  Psalm
5.  Serenade
6.  A Song For Europe
7.  Mother Of Pearl
8.  Sunset

LP4 - Country Life (1974)
1.  The Thrill Of It All
2.  Three And Nine
3.  All I Want Is You
4.  Out Of The Blue
5.  If It Takes All Night
6.  Bitter Sweet
7.  Triptych
8.  Casanova
9.  A Really Good Time
10. Prairie Rose

LP5 - Siren (1975)
1.  Love Is The Drug
2.  End Of The Line
3.  Sentimental Fool
4.  Whirlwind
5.  She Sells
6.  Could It Happen To Me?
7.  Both Ends Burning
8.  Nightingale
9.  Just Another High

LP6 - Manifesto (1979)
1.  Manifesto
2.  Trash
3.  Angel Eyes (rock version)
4.  Still Falls The Rain
5.  Stronger Through The Years
6.  Ain’t That So
7.  My Little Girl
8.  Dance Away (ballad Version)
9.  Cry, Cry, Cry
10. Spin Me Round

LP7 - Flesh And Blood (1980)
1.  The Midnight Hour
2.  Oh Yeah
3.  Same Old Scene
4.  Flesh And Blood
5.  My Only Love
6.  Over You
7.  Eight Miles High
8.  Rain Rain Rain
9.  No Strange Delight
10. Running Wild

LP8 - Avalon (1982)
1.  More Than This
2.  The Space Between
3.  Avalon
4.  India
5.  While My Heart Is Still Beating
6.  The Main Thing
7.  Take A Chance With Me
8.  To Turn You On
9.  True To Life
10. Tara

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.