FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Ry Cooder - Borderline (180G Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Ry Cooder - Borderline

(180G Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDC6669
Ry Cooder Borderline on 180g LP

Acclaimed guitarist/songwriter/composer Ry Cooder's 1980 Warner Bros. album Borderline follows-up his 1979 effort Bop Till You Drop and it takes that album's charming electric R&B/soul explorations and mixes in sounds of the Southwest. Some of Cooder's collaborators here include the revered John Hiatt (guitar/vocals) and Jim Keltner (drums) and the substantial 10-song set is highlighted by impassioned cuts like "The Girls from Texas," "The Way We Make a Broken Heart" and "Crazy 'Bout an Automobile (Every Woman I Know)."

"Ry Cooder once likened his playing – a sublime amalgam of American folk and blues, Hawaiian slack-key guitar, the Tex-Mex zest of conjunto and the regal sensuality of Afro-Cuban son – as "some kind of steam device gone out of control." Cooder's life on guitar has been distinguished by a rare mix of archaic fundamentals and exploratory passion, from his emergence as a teenage blues phenomenon with Taj Mahal and Captain Beefheart in the mid-Sixties to his roots-and-noir film soundtracks and central role in the birth and success of the 1996 Havana supersession Buena Vista Social Club. 

"As a sideman, Cooder has brought true grit and emotional nuance to classic albums by Randy Newman, the Rolling Stones and Eric Clapton. Cooder is also a soulful preservationist, keeping vital pasts alive and dynamic in the modern world. A good example: the night Bob Dylan showed up at Cooder's house asking for a lesson on how to play guitar like the bluesman Sleepy John Estes." - #31 on Rolling Stone's 100 Greatest Guitarists of All-Time

- Ry Cooder (guitar/vibes/vocals)
- Jim Keltner (drums)
- George "Baboo" Pierre (percussion)
- Tim Drummond (bass)
- Reggie McBride (bass)
- William D. Smith (piano/organ/vocals)
- John Hiatt (guitar/vocals)
- Jesse Harms (synthesizer)
- Bobby King (vocals)
- Willie Green Jr. (vocals)

Ry Cooder Borderline Track Listing:

1.  634-5789
2.  Speedo
3.  Why Don't You Try Me
4.  Down In the Boondocks
5.  Johnny Porter
6.  The Way We Make A Broken Heart
7.  Crazy 'Bout An Automobile (Every Woman I Know)
8.  The Girls From Texas
9.  Borderline
10. Never Make Your Move Too Soon

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. 634-5789
2. Speedo
3. Why Don't You Try Me
4. Down In the Boondocks
5. Johnny Porter
6. The Way We Make A Broken Heart
7. Crazy 'Bout An Automobile (Every Woman I Know)
8. The Girls From Texas
9. Borderline
10. Never Make Your Move Too Soon

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.