FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Ryan Hemsworth - Guilt Trips (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Ryan Hemsworth Guilt Trips

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDH0515

Ryan Hemsworth Guilt Trips on LP

Canada’s own Ryan Hemsworth has become one of the fastest rising producers and remix artists in the past couple of years. Since his first official release with 2012's Last Words on West Coast label Wedidit Collective, he’s gained notoriety for his original production and collaborations, and has amassed fans and charmed critics all over the world - meanwhile touring Europe, Australia, and North America with the likes of Bauuer, Daedelus, and others.

Now, the man some call “The Internet Zack Morris” and “The Remix Ryan Gosling” is proud to announce his debut album Guilt Trips on famed label Last Gang Records. On this newest full length, Hemsworth digs deeper beyond the hip hop, R&B and dance music world to inspirations that sprout from a time before he made the type of music that people have come to expect.

“For this project, I wanted to just expand on everything, lay as much as I could out on the table,” he explains. “There’s a lot more of me on this than my last projects. With a lot of the songs, I had high school in mind and during that time I was making music with my voice, guitar, and samples, so I’ve gone back to the first two a bit more, and also getting help from vocalists. Some of the club music that I’ve been surrounded by in the past year can be really cold, so I think once you throw in more melody and emotion that can only come from the human voice and guitar, it becomes a lot warmer.”

The 10-song set's first single, “Against the Wall” features Lofty 305, left-field rapper from Miami’s Metro Zu crew, whose vocals are juxtaposed on the track to create a very specific mood that is consistent throughout and in turn becomes a perfect showcase for Ryan’s approach with this album.

“I reached out to friends and people I admire really. I wanted kind of unexpected collaborations and people with a uniqueness to them, instead of just reaching out to random top-liners. Someone like Lofty305, who has a weird, certainly not trained voice, made sense for “Against A Wall” because I wanted it to match the mood of the track. That’s so much more important to me than making a perfect song," he explains." 

Adding, "I just wanted to flesh out that charming imperfection on a lot of the tracks. When I asked the people on it to do their parts, I didn’t direct them too much but just asked them to think of a breakup or a time when they felt weird or shitty from love. All of my music is sparked from love in some form or another I think, so this album is kind of just a capsule of different moods caused by love.”

Ryan Hemsworth Guilt Trips Track Listing:

1.  Small + Lost (featuring Sinead Harnett)
2.  Against A Wall (featuring Lofty 305)
3.  Weird Life
4.  Still Cold (featuring Baths)
5.  Avec Vous
6.  Happiness & Dreams Forever
7.  Yaeko Mitamura Is Lonely
8.  Ryan Must Be Destroyed
9.  One For Me (featuring Tinashe)
10. Day/Night/Sleep System (featuring Haleek Maul and Kitty)
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Small + Lost (featuring Sinead Harnett)
2. Against A Wall (featuring Lofty 305)
3. Weird Life
4. Still Cold (featuring Baths)
5. Avec Vous
6. Happiness & Dreams Forever
7. Yaeko Mitamura Is Lonely
8. Ryan Must Be Destroyed
9. One For Me (featuring Tinashe)
10. Day/Night/Sleep System (featuring Haleek Maul and Kitty)

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.