FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Sam Smith - In The Lonely Hour (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Sam Smith - In The Lonely Hour

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (5)
Item: LDS91708

Sam Smith In The Lonely Hour on LP

2015 Grammy Award Winner for Best New Artist, Best Pop Vocal Album and Record of the Year & Song of the Year for "Stay With Me"

In The Lonely Hour is the debut album from fast rising English singer/songwriter Sam Smith. 2013 saw Smith's journey from featured vocalist on Disclosure's big breakout hit "Latch" to being awarded some of the music industry's biggest accolades with the Brit's Critics Choice Award and the prestigious BBC Sound Poll 2014, the first and only male winner of both honors. In The Lonely Hour is a 14-track labour of love for Smith, "I said to myself, I don't want to have a genre. I wanted to take a risk." 

In the course of putting it together, Smith worked with a roll call of blue chip collaborative names including Fraser T Smith, Two Inch Punch, Eg White, Disclosure, Zane Lowe, Tourist and long term writing partner Jimmy Napes. Despite the impressive list of partnerships, the album still has his signature all over it with a powerful sound and mesmerizing, unforgettable vocals. Anchored by the Two Inch Punch produced smash lead single "Money On My Mind," and follow-up "Stay With Me," In The Lonely Hour contains plenty of melancholia and unrequited love within. 

"I've been lucky enough to work with some of the world's greatest singers, like Rod Stewart, Tina Turner, Cher and Seal,” explains Steve Fitzmaurice (who recorded, mixed and co-produced the album) to Sound On Sound, "and Sam is easily in the same league. He is the best singer I have worked with since I worked those legends. He sings completely effortlessly and natural. The first time I recorded him, laying down his vocals on 'Money On My Mind', it was immediately obvious what an amazing talent he is. So when we made his album, the vocals were the key. His vocals had to be at the centre, and we stripped away everything that got in the way.”

"Twenty-two-year-old singer-songwriter Sam Smith has been favorably compared to fellow U.K. tragedian Adele, and with good reason: Both artists trade in the blue-eyed balladry of lovers scorned with strikingly emotional nakedness." - Sal Cinquemani, Slant Magazine

Sam Smith In The Lonely Hour Track Listing:

1.  Money On My Mind
2.  Good Thing
3.  Stay With Me
4.  Leave Your Lover
5.  I'm Not The Only One
6.  I've Told You Now
7.  Like I Can
8.  Life Support
9.  Not In That Way
10. Lay Me Down
11. Restart
12. Latch 
13. La La La
14. Make It To Me
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Money On My Mind
2. Good Thing
3. Stay With Me
4. Leave Your Lover
5. I'm Not The Only One
6. I've Told You Now
7. Like I Can
8. Life Support
9. Not In That Way
10. Lay Me Down
11. Restart
12. Latch
13. La La La
14. Make It To Me

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.