FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Sarah Siskind - Covered (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Sarah Siskind Covered

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS3210
Sarah Siskind Covered on LP + Download

New release from the Chigliak label curated by Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon. The reissue will mark the first time Covered is available again in physical formats after the CD went out of print. This is the first time Covered has been available on vinyl.

"Ten years ago, a 22 year old songwriter entered a recording studio with producer Tucker Martine (My Morning Jacket, Neko Case, Beth Orton) to make a record. Poised with one of the greatest talents for carrying Appalachian music into new places, Sarah Siskind penned a record in which every moment, every stitch thread perfectly. 

"Recorded to 2-inch analog tape, Covered is a masterful record, in which American music and guitar icon, and one of Sarah's musical heroes, Bill Frisell plays a key role. But amid plans for a national release, sinus illness struck and multiple surgeries followed, and Covered was instead released independently on a much smaller scale than originally planned. With little tour and press support, the album never earned its place in the hearts it could have.

"A few years later, by chance, I came across a copy of Covered while digging into Frisell's catalog, for I also have a deep admiration for the music icon and couldn't get enough of his work. Looking back, I had no idea how much this album would shake me down; it quickly earned its place in my heart. I listened so much from then on that I wore out several copies, all the while pondering how such an amazing record could go largely unnoticed by the masses.

"Four years passed, Sarah fully recovered from her sinus issues and set her sights high once again. She went on to record her much lauded boutique double EP Studio Living Room and followed it with widely-acclaimed Say it Louder, which earned her 2009 Nashville Music Awards’ “Americana Album of the Year.” As she gained more and more attention, writing songs for Alison Krauss and the like, I listened along but still continued to wear out Covered, bewildered as to why it still wasn't grabbing more people with its poise.

"Finally, yet still overdue, we at Chigliak give you Covered, reissued and released for the first time on vinyl. Listen and let it shake you down. Meet me in Times Square." - Justin Vernon

Sarah Siskind Covered Track Listing:

1.  Times Square
2.  Covered
3.  Such An Obvious Love
4.  Knowing Only What I Know
5.  Soldier
6.  Diamond Maria
7.  Do You Love An Apple?
8.  Naturally
9.  High Lonesome Sound
10. Mustard Dress
11. Chesapeake Shore
12. Lonesome Prospect
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Times Square
2. Covered
3. Such An Obvious Love
4. Knowing Only What I Know
5. Soldier
6. Diamond Maria
7. Do You Love An Apple?
8. Naturally
9. High Lonesome Sound
10. Mustard Dress
11. Chesapeake Shore
12. Lonesome Prospect

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.