FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Say Anything - In Defense of the Genre (180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Say Anything - In Defense of the Genre

(180g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDS07318

Say Anything In Defense Of The Genre on 2LP

Say Anything has been making odd, unclassifiable indie rock music since they were 14 or 15 years old, playing strangely literate and loud rock, characterized by what one might imagine if Larry David fronted a Fugazi cover band with the members of Queen. Having been birthed from the indie/punk boom of the early-21st century, Say Anything rose to prominence with their (oddly) popular record ...Is a Real Boy and somehow broke the "pretty boy punk" mold by establishing a career that thrived somewhere between music your pretentious college student of an older brother would like and the loud crap that your little brother uses to annoy him with.

Say Anything followed that record up with the equally eclectic and lengthy, In Defense of the Genre, a double concept album issued on J Records in 2007. The group's third full-length overall, the sprawling 27-song collection was recorded at Electric Lady Studios in New York City and Seagrass Studios in California and was produced and mixed by Brad Wood (Smashing Pumpkins, Liz Phair, Mewithoutyou).

Frontman Max Bemis explains the album's concept: "It's the story of being alone and losing my mind and then overcoming that event by learning to trust and let go of that anger and fall in love for the first time. It's also about losing that love and the confusion that entails after, and the nature of first love; discovering what you really want whether it be to give yourself totally to someone or explore the endless abyss and risk losing your mind again and that love."

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Skinny, Mean Man
2. No Soul
3. That Is Why
4. Surgically Removing The Tracking Device
5. This Is Fucking Ecstasy
6. The Church Channel
7. Shiksa (Girlfriend)
8. Baby Girl, I'm A Blur
9. Retarded In Love
10. People Like You Are Why People Like Me Exist
11. Died A Jew
12. An Insult To The Dead
13. Sorry, Dudes, My Bad

1. Spay Me
2. In Defense Of The Genre
3. The Truth Is, You Should Lie With Me
4. The World You Wield
5. Vexed
6. About Falling
7. You're The Wanker If Anyone Is
8. Spores
9. We Killed It
10. Have At Thee!
11. Hangover Song
12. Goodbye Young Tutor, You've Now Outgrown Me
13. I Used To Have A Heart
14. Plea

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.