FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Shit Robot - What Follows (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Shit Robot - What Follows

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDS248418

Shit Robot What Follows on 2LP + Download

Marcus Lambkin aka Shit Robot returns with his third full length album for DFA Records, entitled What Follows. The album follows Lambkin's previous long-players, From The Cradle To The Rave (2010) and We Got A Love (2014), which drew plaudits from the likes of The Guardian and Pitchfork, and featured Reggie Watts and James Murphy among the array of contributors. The album was recorded at Marcus' home studio in Stuttgart and various New York studios, then mixed over the course of 11 intense and coffee-fueled days in DFA label mate Juan Maclean's New Hampshire studio.

Citing ‘drum machines' as a key influence, Lambkin has taken the Shit Robot sound into new areas on this record, with most of the tracks the results of improvisation with various analog machines both new and old. Beginning the process in Stuttgart, Lambkin took the drum loops and basslines he'd been working on to NYC, where he spent some time playing around with Holy Ghost's modular synth, before taking what he had to keyboard wizard Morgan Wiley of Midnight Magic and Tippy Toes.

As with those previous albums, the Dublin-born producer has enlisted the help of a stellar cast of guest vocalists to enrich the experience, with previous collaborators Alexis Taylor, Museum of Love and Nancy Whang returning alongside newer guests Jay Green and leftfield fellow Dubliner New Jackson. Taylor turns in two breathtaking vocal performances on lead single "End Of The Trail" and album opener "In Love"; Museum of Love lend the album title track an air of what could have been made in the two months in between the death of Joy Division and the birth of New Order; and Nancy Whang gave such a strong vocal for "Lose Control" that Lambkin and Maclean threw out the existing track and recorded the backing along with the vocal in one take, which the two producers working the machines live.

Best known for fronting iconic American punk bands Orchid and Panthers, Jay Green narrates "Is There No End" as thought it were sibling to From The Cradle To The Rave single "Simple Things." New Jackson makes two appearances, on both "Wir Warten" and "OB-8 (Winter Version)," adding oddball vocals and spaced-out Krautrock guitar arrangements.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. In Love
2. What Follows
3. Ten Miles High
4. Lose Control
5. End Of The Trail
6. Phase Out
7. Wir Warten
8. Is There No End
9. OB-8 (Winter Mix)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.