FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Sir Mix-A-Lot - Mack Daddy (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Sir Mix A-Lot - Mack Daddy

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS43761

Sir Mix-A-Lot Mack Daddy on LP    

Respect The Classics Campaign

Out of Print on Vinyl for Over 10 Years!

Sir Mix-A-Lot parlayed a gonzo tribute to women with large derrieres into hip-hop immortality. But even before he struck crossover gold, Sir Mix-A-Lot was one of rap’s great D.I.Y. success stories. Coming from a city - Seattle - with barely any hip-hop scene to speak of, Mix-A-Lot co-founded his own record label, promoted his music himself, produced all his own tracks, and essentially pulled himself up by the proverbial American bootstraps. 

An eclectic music fan but a rabid hip-hop devotee, he was already actively rapping in the early ’80s, and co-founded the Nastymix record label in 1983 with his DJ, Nasty Nes, who also hosted Seattle’s first hip-hop radio show. His first single was 1987’s “Posse on Broadway,” which referred to a street in Seattle, not New York; it became a local hit, and paved the way for his first LP, 1988’s Swass, which also featured the popular novelty “Square Dance Rap,” and a Run-D.M.C.-style cover of Black Sabbath’s “Iron Man,” with backing by Seattle thrashers Metal Church. In 1989, Mix-A-Lot released his follow up album Seminar, which produced three charting singles in “Beepers,” “My Hooptie,” and “I Got Game” and became the rapper's second straight platinum album.

Financial disputes with Nastymix resulted in a fierce court battle and ended Mix-A-Lot’s association with the label. Fortunately, Def American head Rick Rubin stepped in to offer him a major-label contract. Mix-A-Lot had long had a knack for mimicking (and mocking) the pimps he’d watched while growing up in Seattle, and adopted their visual style with Rubin’s encouragement. He debuted for Def American with 1992’s Mack Daddy, whose first single, “One Time’s Got No Case,” was a critique of racial profiling by police. It went virtually unheard, but the follow-up, “Baby Got Back,” became a pop phenomenon from the moment MTV aired its provocative video. 

“Baby Got Back” spent five weeks atop the pop charts, selling over two million copies; it also pushed Mack Daddy into the Top Ten, and went on to win a Grammy for Best Rap Solo Performance. Billboard magazine ranked it as the second biggest single of the year, behind only Boyz II Men’s juggernaut “End of the Road.” Continuing with its Respect The Classics campaign, UMe will be reissuing Mack Daddy back on vinyl after being out of print for over 10 years!

Sir Mix-A-Lot Mack Daddy Track Listing:      

1.  One Time's Got No Case
2.  Mack Daddy
3.  Baby Got Back
4.  Swap Meet Louie
5.  Seattle Ain't Bullshittin'
6.  Lockjaw
7.  The Boss Is Back
8.  Testarossa
9.  A Rapper's Reputation
10. Sprung On The Cat
11. The Jack Back
12. I'm Your New God
13. No Holds Barred

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. One Time's Got No Case
2. Mack Daddy
3. Baby Got Back
4. Swap Meet Louie
5. Seattle Ain't Bullshittin'
6. Lockjaw
7. The Boss Is Back
8. Testarossa
9. A Rapper's Reputation
10. Sprung On The Cat
11. The Jack Back
12. I'm Your New God
13. No Holds Barred

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.