FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Skaters - Manhattan (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Skaters - Manhattan

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDS39818

Skaters Manhattan on LP + Download

Skaters formed in late 2011 after singer Michael Cummings and drummer Noah Rubin (The Dead Trees, Adam Green, Little Joy) spent a year trading demos back and forth from Los Angeles to London with guitarist Joshua Hubbard (The Paddingtons, Dirty Pretty Things). The three met in the middle to record in a Manhattan loft, and never left the city. Skaters emerged onto the Lower Manhattan scene in the beginning of 2012, playing their brand of eclectic and dynamic punk music to consistently packed venues while issuing their acclaimed debut EP Schemers for free on their website.
It made sense then that when it came time to record their Warner Bros. debut, the band looked directly to its hometown for inspiration. Manhattan is more than an album - it's a statement of purpose and a portrait of life in New York City. "We were all bartenders, so the songs are tales of experiences we had or saw, and other people who were characters in our life during the first year we were in this band," Cummings notes. 

The album kicks off with subway noises, "Because that's the sound of our lives," Cummings says. The ruggedly biographic 11-song set was recorded by John Hill (Santigold, Wavves) in the API room at Greenwich Village's iconic Electric Lady Studios, named after its one-of-a-kind board.

Manhattan features other little pieces of the city, too, in the form of sounds and conversations Hubbard nabbed on an old-school handheld tape recorder. "There's a cab ride in there, there's kids yelling in Brooklyn, girls talking in a café," Rubin says. "It's like a book of short stories," Cummings adds. "It's Salinger's Nine Stories but it's Eleven Stories by Skaters. And the writing is much better."

"A band with the garage revivalist instincts and lo-fi cool to finally bring guitars back into fashion." - Time Out London

Skaters Manhattan Track Listing:

1.  One of Us
2.  Miss Teen Massachusetts
3.  Deadbolt
4.  Bandbreaker
5.  To Be Young in NYC
6.  Schemers
7.  Symptomatic
8.  Fear of the Knife
9.  I Wanna Dance (But I Don't Know How)
10. Nice Hat
11. This Much I Care

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. One of Us
2. Miss Teen Massachusetts
3. Deadbolt
4. Bandbreaker
5. To Be Young in NYC
6. Schemers
7. Symptomatic
8. Fear of the Knife
9. I Wanna Dance (But I Don't Know How)
10. Nice Hat
11. This Much I Care

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.