FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Smallpools - Lovetap! (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Smallpools Lovetap!

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDS87418

Smallpools Lovetap! on LP

The story of Smallpools is mostly a series of happy coincidences. Vocalist Sean Scanlon and guitarist Mike Kamerman met at SXSW in 2007 while both of them were playing in different bands. After forging a friendship based on a mutual love of music and a shared frustration of not seeing their respective bands actually take off, the two eventually decided to join forces and, ultimately, leave the East Coast behind. Moving to LA in 2011 (“We threw all of our stuff in a van and drove cross country from New Jersey,” says Kamerman), both musicians had no solid plan other than to try and make music and not starve to death in the process. 

“It just seemed like eventually something would have to happen,” recalls Scanlon. As luck would have it, eventually something did. After randomly crossing paths with bassist and recent Portland transplant Joe Intile (who, in turn, would randomly cross paths with drummer Beau Kuther, himself recently uprooted from Portland and dropped in Los Angeles for work), the newly assembled band booked some studio time in Atlanta to bang out three songs that would ultimately serve as a template for their burgeoning sound, a first in a series of happy surprises for the band.

Recorded with up-and-coming LA production team Captain Cuts, the tracks on their resulting self-titled EP nicely encapsulated the kind of kaleidoscopic rock/pop explosion Smallpools was all about. “Dreaming” is a potent statement of intent - a propulsive synthsplosion that blends stadium-sized hooks with Scanlon’s euphoric vocals. Elsewhere tracks like “Mason Jar” and “Over and Over” have the kind of guitar lines and buoyant choruses that would make any lover of classic FM radio exceedingly happy. Given that all four bandmembers are seasoned musicians, the pristine pop of Smallpools music is no accident. The airtight songs dip and soar at all the right moments thanks to the no bullshit indie-pop hooks that seem to be embedded in their DNA.

Just eight months after they first experimented with making music together, the foursome behind Smallpools found themselves signing a major record deal with RCA Records who will issue the band's debut album Lovetap!, home to all four of the songs off of their critically acclaimed EP ("Dreaming," "Mason Jar," "Over and Over," "No Story Time") plus the Ricky Reed and John Ryan produced lead single, "Karaoke" which Baeble Music exclaims, "...is lighthearted, lots of fun, and makes you want to grab a mic and sing along.” 

Smallpools Lovetap! Track Listing:

1.  American Love
2.  Killer Whales
3.  Dreaming
4.  Karaoke
5.  Street Fight
6.  Mason Jar
7.  Over and Over
8.  Lovetap!
9.  What’s A Picture Of?
10. Dyin’ to Live
11. Admission To Your Party
12. 9 to 5
13. No Story Time
14. (Submarine)
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. American Love
2. Killer Whales
3. Dreaming
4. Karaoke
5. Street Fight
6. Mason Jar
7. Over and Over
8. Lovetap!
9. What’s A Picture Of?
10. Dyin’ to Live
11. Admission To Your Party
12. 9 to 5
13. No Story Time
14. (Submarine)

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.